Almond Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alter Aries
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I cut down the servings but other than that, I followed the recipe without reading the reviews. These are very good and I LOVE the smell. Nice little snack when you craving for something sweet but not too heavy. Definitely will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This is such a great recipe. I always have the ingredients on hand and they're very simple to make. Do not overbake these, as the flavor really seems to depend on the moistness of the bars. They are a great holiday bar, but we make them year-round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
These have become one of my "go to" recipes when I want to take something sweet for a morning event. Wonderful with a cup of coffee. Takes closer to 40 minutes to bake in my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Everyone liked. Easy and fast. I had only made half batch and cut the time a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Very easy to make and great taste! I agree with other reviewers that they taste like a bear claw. They were a big hit with the family, I will be making these often! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
very good, very easy. no special ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Really tasty once I finally got them completely baked. I think I might up the almond extract to 3 t. However, the baking instructions are wildly inaccurate. After 30 minutes at 325 I took out the bars and tested with a wooden toothpick. They tested done. I let them cool for an hour, dusted with the powdered sugar and cut into them. Instead of a cake like bar I found raw batter. (Apparently the batter doesn't stick to the toothpick enough to see.) I put them back in the oven at 350 for an ADDITIONAL 30 minutes and they finally are done, still a little gooey, but cooked through. I think I will start at 350 next time. Tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I have made these for years and they are still a favorite. The taste is very close to Dutch Banket which is a flaky pastry filled with almond paste. My Dutch father loves these and they are so much easier to make than Banket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I am flummoxed by these. I thought they were awful yesterday when I made them. Bland, dry, unpleasant texture and not sweet enough. I put them in the freezer just in case. Today I nibbled on one straight from the freezer and loved it! Soft, sweet, and nutty with an intense bear claw flavor and "chew". ( I added a tsp each of salt and vanilla and a cup of chopped almonds. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I halved the recipe and used a square baking dish (not sure if it is 8" or 9".) The lovely texture was a perfect base topped with fresh sliced peaches and a dab of fresh whipped cream and got raves from all. Thank you, Sandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States