Almond Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
very good but i recommend to make a little more of the butter mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Delicious. Kinda like a praline. I reduced the sugar and the butter, still great and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
Husband loves it the best!! Some kids don't like almonds yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This was one of the easiest recipes I have ever made. I don't like to bake and this turned out so simple and successful. I was so pleased.I used a bag of silvered almonds that I bought and had in the house. I thought it tasted like a toffee bar. It was a pleasure to have something turn out so good and no hassle. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
these are great and pretty easy to make. Not by any means healthy though. I really couldn't bring myself to use more than 1 stick (1/2 cup) of butter and it turned out really well. This is really sweet though and it's a good thing to cut into really really small pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
So simple even a caveman could do it, Really! :) These were the most popular snack at a recent get together. Super quick from start to finish, and you probably have all the ingredients on hand already. If you love the taste of toffee, you'll love these - YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
I've made these every year as christmas gifts for the last 5 years. Everyone raves about them. I use cinnamon graham crackers and add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the butter mix while baking. I also use the high butter fat European butter. It gives them a richer,fuller taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I have made this recipe with brown sugar and regular sugar - both versions are excellent. I prefer the white sugar version. Just remember if you do use the white sugar, don't add vanilla. My kids LOVE this recipe. On the white sugar version, use 2 sticks of butter melted with 1/2 cup white sugar. More than sweet enough and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These were a hit at our party. I tried chocolate on just a few of them and I definitely liked it. I will put chocolate on all of them the next time i make them. So simple and pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I didn't have any almonds so I used cashew chunks instead. I expected the bars to taste more like toffee, but it's probably the almonds that give it the toffee-like taste. I would use less butter too, they are a bit oily. Other than that though, super easy and quick recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orangemm.13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States