Almond, Apple Cinnamon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I was worried that these might be dry, so I used almost a full cup of yogurt and doubled the milk. I also added 1 tsp. of cinnamon powder to the dry ingredients. I used only 1 tsp. of almond extract. Because I added more wet ingredients, the batter was very sticky, so I dropped the batter onto the cookie sheet in 12 equal portions and topped it with cinnamon sugar and chopped walnuts (didn't have any almonds).They were perfect! Light, moist and flavorful! Just what I wanted! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I followed this recipe to the "T" -- it was okay, but I won't make it again. In my opinion, it didn't show off the apples to their best. If you do make it, these scones are best eaten warm -- you'll find their flavor greatly improved by a few seconds in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
True to the nature of scones, these scones were dense and a bit dry after the first day. I found they could use a bit more flavor, and plan to use more vanilla sugar and cinnamon next time. I also grated the apples into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
My boss mmade these scones and brought them to work; they were wonderful, even at room temperature. She said she had one warm from the oven the night before with a cup of Chai, and it was fantastic. These were very tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using half whole wheat flour. These scones tasted great for breakfast and were a perfect way to use the bounty of apples we have from our small orchard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I substituted some of the ingredients with ingredients that I had on hand such as table spread instead of shortening, apricot yogurt instead of plain, soy milk for milk, vanilla extract for almond and used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1cup of normal all purpose flour. Turned out great anyway! Definitely a favorite at my hostel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Excellent! I added a bit more yogurt and 1 peach and a handful of fresh saskatoons in addition to the 2 apples. They turned out light and fluffy. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I have no idea what happened with these. First time attempting scones and the finished product was good, but not at all what I expected. The dough was sticky and more like a batter than a dough. Sticky, messy and a pain to try to knead. I know the kneading is supposed to be minimal, but because of the stickiness I had to keep adding flour. I noticed others reviews stated numerous substitutions they made and the finished product turned out well. I kept to the recipe and made no substitutions. Won't use this recipe again. I'm going to try another AR recipe tomorrow and hope I have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These turned out very well for me. I took the advice of another review and used a little more yogurt. My family was very pleased with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were good! I used butter instead of shortening and three small Gravenstein apples. I didn't have plain yogurt so I used vanilla yogurt, which I increased to 3/4 cup. I also didn't have sliced almonds for the topping. They turned out well even with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States