Almond, Apple Cinnamon Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
they just came out of the oven. I added an extra tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnammon and greek yogurt with a little half and half and used butter instead of shortening -- then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before baking. I ommited the almonds except for the extract. It came out okay and the apples with the almond extract and cinnamon is a nice combination. They do not really look very attractive but the taste is fine. I made them as drop scones. Next time I may add more flour and make them into biscuits, but drop scones have more moisture which is nice. I would recommend the recipe when you are in the mood to make something sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecile Lin
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I added applesauce and cinnamon to the recipe which made it really good. However if you follow this recipe to a T you will have a dry scone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
well true to a few other reviews my dough was sticky and almost unworkable thought it was something i had done wrong ( i had added ground flax and oat flour and whole wheat flour so somewhere in there i thought i had missed something but i added more flour and some cinnamon and alittle more baking powder and WOW they are awesome very light inside can see them drying out quickly but for now just out of the oven they are wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Athabasca, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Taste of apple was weak. Used extra butter and more cinnamon and used toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I always want to search for a cooking site where I can find an easy and the world's best recipes, but I discover more than what I'm looking for when I found out this parcel site, http://www.gourmetrecipe.com, I really appreciate this site for it has a lot to offer more than recipes but also is an informative site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I am quite the rookie baker, but these turned out GREAT. i took the advice to add more yogurt, so about a cup instead of half. little bit more milk. 2 fairly large apples, the more the better for me anyways. and i didnt have almond extract so i used vanilla extract, but still used crushed almonds for the topping. Also added some cinnamon powder to the dry mix. They turned out very moist and sooo good. even my picky little 2 year old loves them! Thank you for the recipe and advice!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I have no idea what happened with these. First time attempting scones and the finished product was good, but not at all what I expected. The dough was sticky and more like a batter than a dough. Sticky, messy and a pain to try to knead. I know the kneading is supposed to be minimal, but because of the stickiness I had to keep adding flour. I noticed others reviews stated numerous substitutions they made and the finished product turned out well. I kept to the recipe and made no substitutions. Won't use this recipe again. I'm going to try another AR recipe tomorrow and hope I have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These turned out very well for me. I took the advice of another review and used a little more yogurt. My family was very pleased with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were good! I used butter instead of shortening and three small Gravenstein apples. I didn't have plain yogurt so I used vanilla yogurt, which I increased to 3/4 cup. I also didn't have sliced almonds for the topping. They turned out well even with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Excellent! I added a bit more yogurt and 1 peach and a handful of fresh saskatoons in addition to the 2 apples. They turned out light and fluffy. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States