Almond and Baby Bok Choy Asian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Just had this tonight. Excellent with baby bok-choy & toasted nuts! I added a few scallions and used olive oil instead of canola; otherwise, I followed the ingredients exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie
Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I used olive oil in place of the canola oil, and soy-ginger wontons instead of croutons. Also added some powdered ginger to the dressing. Brought this for dinner at a Japanese household and it went over very well. This is definitely going in the recipe box for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
The salad itself is easy as can be, and easily changed to preference. I added half a chopped yellow bell pepper and used crispy chow mein noodles instead of the croutons. I'm not sold on the dressing. It could be bc I dont' have mirin, but I'm really not a fan; it's too bland, and I added some sugar and some fresh ginger. I think there's too much oil in this, so I'd cut that down but I'm not sold on trying it again. I think I'll look for another asian style dressing for this salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I finally found baby bok choy in an asian market! It makes a refreshing salad that would be good with cucumber, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I have never tried bok choy in a salad before and I LOVED it! The dressing had a great Asian sesame flavor and the texture of the bok choy, carrots, and almonds was wonderful. I omitted the croutons - they don't seem to fit with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
With a salad, of all of its sections, it's the dressing that needs the directions. Cause if the dressing don't sing, then forget the whole thing -- it's no salad, it's a veggie collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I used only 2 T oil and added red and yellow peppers. Will try the mandarin oranges next time. Instead of sesame seeds and croutons I used Mrs. May's sesame crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
A good idea that turned out alright. Definitely needed mandarin oranges and less oil in the dressing. Following other reviewers, I took liberties with the sauce- Walnut Oil & Olive Oil as the base, soy sauce, red wine vinegar and toasted sesame seeds yielded something I was happy to eat but would be concerned about serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
salad was excellent with mandarin oranges and yellow peppers added. dressing was good, but a bit too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Well, as written I can only give this 3 stars. But, there is a lot of potential here! I made it as written and I thought it could use a bit of sprucing up. Next time, I would add sliced scallions to the salad, double the bok choy and leave the romaine out altogether. But, really, it's the dressing that needs some work. It could use some less oil in place of some sesame oil, some fresh grated ginger, maybe some red pepper flakes...Thanks anyway, but, I probably won't be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States