Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
Be forwarned: This needs 8 oz. not 3 oz. of cream cheese! With 8 oz, it is a great spin on the classic, otherwise it's fatally flawed and tastes like sugar wax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Beautiful frosting. Delicious and spiced just right. Three cups of powdered sugar was just right for me too, not four, and my 5-star rating reflects that change. I used this frosting to frost "Beer Spice Cake," also from this site, made into cupcakes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
The allspice really adds to this otherwise ho-hum frosting recipe. I used it on the Apple Cinnamon Pecan Cake from this site. What a treat! Thanks V Monte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I use the 8 oz of cream cheese also- makes it thicker but still spreadable. I find if I add the milk 1/2 TBS at a time, it turns out perfect. Monte- this is a fabulous frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChAnMad

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenks, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
I prepared recipe as written using Penzey's allspice and Philly cream cheese. The allspice darkens the frosting slightly. The taste was okay, but I honestly didn't love it. Maybe the Penzey's allspice is too strong in flavor. I guess I prefer traditional cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I loved the taste of this frosting. My only peeve is that I do not like very sweet frosting. I was very apprehensive to add 4C of conf. sugar. I added the sugar to the mixture 1/2C at a time and I ended stopping at 3 1/2C of conf. sugar. It was plenty sweet for me. The consistency was a tad watery with less sugar at room temperature so I chilled it in the fridge before spreading on my cake. Worked like a charm. Give this a try on the Lite Carrot cake on this site. A winning combination that's sure to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
Wonderful! However, I agree that it should say one 8 oz. package of cream cheese instead of one 3 oz. With a 3 ounce package, you can't even taste the cream cheese! Thank goodness I test-tasted it though! I used it to frost Lite Carrot Cake. It was a smashing combination! It was still super rich even though I used Neufchatel Cheese. YUMMY! I would make it again, but I'm afraid I will eat it all.... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
as written, this frosting is so-so. i don't think theres enough cream cheese, and way too much sugar. i modified by using 8 oz cream cheese and 2 cups of sugar and found those proportions to be perfect. i used them to ice a pumpkin spice cake and the flavor combo was wonderful. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
Great frosting! I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups though which i thought was sweet enough. And i didn't have allspice, so i used a combo of cinnamon, nutmeg and a pinch of ground cloves. Tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
THIS FROSTING CAME OUT REALLY THIN , I HAD TO ADD A CUP AND 1/2 MORE OF SUGAR TO THICKEN IT UP , WHICH MADE IT TO SWEET. I WOULD ELIMINATE THE MILK .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States