Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
I will never use another frosting on spice cakes again! I did thin mine with a little milk, and now I wish I hadn't. Don't use it unless yours doesn't look spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I am only giving this 4 stars cuz I am not sure how it would be with only 3 oz of cream cheese. I followed other reviewers' advice and made it with 8 oz of cream cheese and it was way too GOOD!! I also only put in 3 cups of p. sugar. I put this on 'Grammy Burnham's Molasses Cookies' from this site and it was sooooo goood!!! I took them to work and absolutely everyone loved them!! I will definitely use this frosting on all my spice/carrot cakes, etc.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I licked the bowl clean! I used this on the lite carrot cake from this site... outstanding! I also sprinkled flaked coconut over the cake after icing it. Made it for my boyfriend's birthday- he LOVED it! Thanks v monte!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
Very good, I used it on the lite carrot cake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
This frosting is great, especially on the "Best Carrot Cake Ever" recipe also on this site. I typically use an 8oz brick of cream cheese since my husband likes a more tart taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I'm only giving this 4 stars because I modified it and am not sure how it would taste as written. I used an 8 oz pkg of light cream cheese and only 3 cups of sugar...and no milk. It was delicious on carrot cake....definitely a keeper. *Update: I used this almost as written - a tad less sugar and 1 T milk - as a frosting for banana cake. It was very delicious, although I wished there was a bit more for covering the cake thicker. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Fantastic!!! Used on banana cake as topping. Was not too sweat which was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I made this frosting with cinnamon instead of allspice (I hate allspice), used fat free cream cheese and soy milk (son is allergic to dairy), and put it on the Lite Carrot Cake on this site. I had to use a bit more sugar than suggested but it eventually came out great. This will be my staple cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I made this for the Spanish Bar Cake recipe you can find here, and it was a wonderful icing. We like cream cheese, so I used 8 oz. of cream cheese, and omitted the butter it called for. It turned out very well and this is how I will be making it from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I loved the taste of this frosting. My only peeve is that I do not like very sweet frosting. I was very apprehensive to add 4C of conf. sugar. I added the sugar to the mixture 1/2C at a time and I ended stopping at 3 1/2C of conf. sugar. It was plenty sweet for me. The consistency was a tad watery with less sugar at room temperature so I chilled it in the fridge before spreading on my cake. Worked like a charm. Give this a try on the Lite Carrot cake on this site. A winning combination that's sure to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States