Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This icing tasted fantastic with Sam's Famous Carrot Cake (on this site). I omitted the milk altogether, as the frosting was easily spreadable without it. If you stir everything together at room temperature (completely softened), you won't need the milk. Other than the milk omission, I stuck to the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Devilishly good! I did make a couple small changes. Took PATRINCIA's advice on Penzey's All Spice possibly being stronger than the norm, so I cut that to 1/2 tsp. Used a full 8 oz brick of Neufchatel. And, cut the sugar to 1 3/4 cup. Thanks! Awesome complement to the Spiced Banana Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I took other reviewers advice and used 8 oz cream cheese. I used the frosting for an applesauce cake and my family absolutely LOVED it! Great frosting - easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akadianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wales, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Giving this 4 stars for the idea. My standard cream cheese frosting doesn't have milk, and uses a 8 oz package of cream cheese. But I love the idea of putting allspice, or other spices into the frosting. It's great on a spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I love this recipe, although I did modify it a bit. I put at least 4oz. of cream cheese, sometimes more, and only 3 cups of icing sugar, otherwise it's way too sweet. It goes amazing with "Spice Cake II" from this site. Just make sure to taste it frequently as you're mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verdun, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was VERY good, I just now realized that someone said it needs 8 oz not 3 oz of cream cheese...I used only 3 oz and it was quite runny...I added a splash of orange extract and it really added a little something to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shoppingbaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Excellent!!! All of our guests loved this frosting. They were scraping the bowl hoping for more. I used it on carrot cake this time but it be incredible on home made cinnamon rolls or as icing on iced raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I make and additional 1/2 recipe to have enough to adequately frost a carrot cake. It is one of our favorite frosting recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
i loved this recipe i did add only 1\4 tsp of allspice and only 3 cups of confectioners sugar it was really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
this is a very tasty recipe that makes for a great staple recipe for spice,carrot or banana cake.Excellent flavor but I will play a little to work on the consistency...but I highly recommend...YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States