Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Very good with apple spiced cake. I used about 6 oz of cream cheese and 1lb of powdered sugar, also added about 1/2 cup of applesauce. Added vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I give this recipe 4 stars as written, 5 stars with my changes. I took the advice off other reviewers and used 8 oz. cream cheese and only 3 cups confectioners' sugar. I found that I didn't need to add any milk. The consistency was perfect for piping onto cupcakes. I piped them onto "Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes" from this site and the combination is amazing! I was in the mood to try something different and I'm so glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I used this recipe as a base because I was looking for a frosting recipe for a spice cake, and this sounded good. I only had 4 oz. of cream cheese left, so that is what I used along with 1/3 cup butter, and probably about 3 cups of confectioners'sugar. (I didn't really measure it, just kept adding until consistency was right) I didn't add any milk, but did add the vanilla and allspice. Then, I decided to stir in some finely chopped pecans, and it was delicious! Perfect frosting for my spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Simple and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Good frosting, although I had to reduce the sugar to 2 cups instead of four. I also didn't add the other tablespoon of milk as it was already thin enough and I didn't want it much thinner. I'm putting it on the Beer Spice Cake recipe on this site and topping it off with walnuts... mmm, I can't wait until the cake's finished cooling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is an awesome frosting recipe for spice cakes! I used it on a banana spice cake also found on this site. I used an 8 oz block of cream cheese, and the result was a rich, creamy, slightly spiced frosting. Mmmm... I didn't even let my kids lick the bowl this time. It was MINE. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Minerva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Fantastic!! So wonderful on spice cake or carrot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Wonderful and easy frosting! Yes, one 8 oz. package of cream cheese. I didn't have allspice so I used some pupmpkin pie spice I had. Allspice is a mixture of cinnamon, clove, and nutmeg so I think you could add a little of each depending on your taste also. I didn't have any powdered sugar on hand either so I just took regular sugar and placed in my Vitamix, added 1 T. of corn starch and blended into powder. It turned out perfect! I used only 3 cups of the sugar and it was just right. I also did not need to use any milk. When chilled, it does harden, just take out a few minutes before you want to use it and whip it with a fork and it will be spreadable again. I keep it in a bowl in the fridge rather than frosting a whole cake or loaf...that way everyone can add as much as they like. I'll be making this again to use with many other deserts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Wanted to modify this recipe to make it more of a dip --- so a little lighter, a little less intense. I used 8 oz cream cheese, cut out the butter, easily halved the sugar. Added cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
So great you'll want to eat it with a spoon instead of frosting a cake. Went great with the Spanish Bar Cake on this site. Also great as a dip for Molasses Cookies - could add a little extra powdered sugar and use as an icing for cookies. Used 8 oz. cream cheese and about 3 cups powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States