Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I cut the recipe in 1/2 and used 4 oz. of cream cheese (I do think that the 3 oz. must be a typo), and I only used 1 1/3 c. of powdered sugar. I also had to do the sub for allspice, using cinnamon, ginger & cloves. I also added a dash of nutmeg, the end result was very tasty & made a nice frosting for A-Number-1-Banana Cake. Thanks for your recipe V!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
Very good frosting! I used it with the Lite Carrot Cake recipe also at this site. I used 2-8 ounce packages of Neufchatel cream cheese, and instead of allspice I just used cinnamon. Frosting turned out very creamy, and not as thick as regular cream cheese frosting. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
YUM!!! I used it to top an easy spice cookie recipe I've been using for years (1 box spice cake mix, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup Crisco, 1 egg-bake at 350 for 11 minutes). Took the frosted cookies to a Christmas Sing at my son's pre-school and they were gone in minutes...people said they were the best cookies on the table! Will definitely use again and again - thanks V for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This is the best cream cheese frosting I've ever tasted. I used it on an apple spice cake and had left overs which stored really well for a week. I then used it to frost Holiday Sugar cookies and the frosting was a perfect compliment. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Excellent! I used this to frost cake mix spice cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Delicious! I used it on Sweet Potato Pound Cake from this website. I did not add the milk, however, because it was creamy and spreadable without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
This frosting is excellent on spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
this is a great frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
this recipe was excellent, I used pure mexican vanilla which added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Used this recipe with "Pear cake" and it was a great hit. Super easy and good! I think this would be great on carrot cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States