Allison's Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I loved this salad, as did my hubby. I didnt change a thing and it was fabulous! The grapes are a nice addition...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I'm having a ladies luncheon on Saturday. The problem I have is they are all great cooks and have all tried every new recipe. I found this recipe to be something totally different. I know they'll just love it. I never serve anything new until I've tried it first. I have to say that this is wonderful! I increased the amount of dressing as others suggested; and anyone who knows me, knows I just have to add a cup of celery. I also left out the cheese and increased the grapes adding red as well as green. Oh my, how wonderful! I'm excited to have found a recipe that none of my friends have yet! Thanks Allison!PS I used seashell pasta. The shape seems to hold onto the dressing better than other shapes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
FABULOUS RECIPE! I checked out everyone's recommendations first and then: doubled the sauce, also added halved grape tomatoes, julienned swiss cheese. Whatever you do, definitely double the sauce. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Island Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
This was different. I followed everyone elses advice and doubled the dressing ingredients, otherwise it would have been way too dry. I also cut the cheese down to 1 cup, omitted the grapes and added a diced red bell pepper. The dressing has a stong dill taste. I thought it tasted better the second day. It was a nice change but I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
This salad was awesome! By far the tastiest pasta salad I have ever attempted. I noticed that in many of the other reviews, people said they omitted the grapes. I would highly recommend trying them, because they add a nice sweetness to the mix and really set this salad apart from others. The pasta shape I used is called Cellentani (I had never noticed it before. It's hollow like elbow macaroni, but has a long, spiral shape to it). The one thing I didn't like was the diced cheese - I thought the pieces were too big. Next time, I'll try using shredded or grated cheese. Thanks, Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Very good salad. However, I don't understand why everyone wants to double the sauce. The recipe calls for 1 3/4 C. of pasta, which is hardly anything at all. After making the sauce, I realized I would need more pasta and cooked another batch. It was still plenty moist and I ended up cooking about 12 oz. of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I was skeptical of the grapes, but I'm glad I put them in---they really are tasty. I made this according to the recipe with the exception of using lemon juice instead of the vinegar (just because I didn't have any cider vinegar) and my guests and family loved it! I used deli sliced ham that I cut into small bites and I diced the cheddar very small. I also added carrots and cucumbers for some extra veggies. This is so good and easy, this is THE pasta salad I'll make from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Made it four times now, we love it. Vinegar is key, I tried it once with lemon juice instead and it wasn't as good. Measured generous portions with the dressing, used light mayo and sour cream. Substituted chicken for ham (Perdue Shortcuts- precooked!) and red for green grapes. Cut back on green onions, added more dill. Bought pre-diced cheddar cheese and I'm done in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this for my family reunion and it was a big hit. Make sure you make it a day in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Wow after making hundreds of recipes from this website this is my first review. I was not too sure of the combination of this salad, but I was very very surprised that it turned out much better than I had hoped!!!!! I was looking for something to use up some grapes. I never seem to eat grapes after the first time and they always to to waste. So I tried this recipes and I will definately make again. I made it almost as written. My only changes were white vinegar, because I didn't have cidar, and med. cheddar...because of preference. I really think the sauce is what makes it great but also really love the great combination of ingrediance!!! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Bacon Ranch Pasta Salad

Cheddar, bacon, and ranch dressing make a fast and flavorful pasta salad.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States