Alligator Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I've tried several different seasoning's for gator and this is definitely one of the best! It's simple to put together and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this last night and although it was good, we didn't really care for the taste of the cornmeal. I will try a fish batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Amazing! Thanks for giving me a new way to fix all the gator we brought home from vacation. Was very delicious and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gidget

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This was awesome. So awesome that I am giving my very first review. I did as others suggested and soaked it in buttermilk for a good half hour then took it out of the milk and put it in the cornmeal mix and then into my deep fryer. I fried it till it floated. My 1.5 and 3.5 year old both loved it as well as me and my husband. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tory

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I used apple cidar vinegar to do the marinade. I also tenderized them with a tenderizing hammer before I marinated them and instead of plain cornmeal and all the seasonings I just used som Louisiana Fish Fry mix and instead of the flour I used 1/2 cup of pancake mix. Make some tots or frys and you have a Friday eveming meal fit for any cajun. My family loved these. I had fixed them before, but had never marinated them. These were the best fingers ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Good basic recipe for alligator fingers.I use Frank's Red Hot sauce mixed in with the vinegar to marinate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Awesome! I dipped these in my own horseradish dip and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
This was great. Will definatly be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeddyB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The meat was perfectly seasoned. You may wish to double the amount of dipping sauce as we found it wasn't enough. I found frozen alligator meat at a specialty grocery store. Although it tasted somewhat like chicken, it was slightly chewy. We tried it as an entree but I think it would be better as an hors'doerve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
very good recipe. I marinated mine in buttermilk and it turned out well. if you dont have buttermilk, you can use 1 cup milk with 1 TBS of lemon juice or vinegar, let sit 10 minutes. alligator is really very good but it does NOT taste like chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Buttermilk Hush Puppies

See how to make traditional Southern-style hush puppies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States