Alligator Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
The local Kroger didn't have alligator meat (not a lot of them in Kentucky...), so I used chicken. GOOD stuff, in spite of having to switch the primary ingredient!! The seasonings are exeptionally well balanced -- just enough heat, without interfering with great flavor. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I love this recipe for chili more than any other chili ive had. im 14 and im joing a chili cook off and this will for sure win ill be sure to name it after you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was awesome, the only thing I didn't do was add the chopped chili in the adobo sauce because I didn't have it! I also couldn't get ground gator so i used just tenderized gator meat, kinda like chicken breasts. I chopped it up small and the chili turned out perfect! Everyone loved it, Thanks Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonfly22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kemblesville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I was a little skeptical about this recipe, for starters because I've never cooked with alligator. Also, I thought V-8 juice, cinnamon and ginger were odd indgredients for chili, but I believe if you are going to use a recipe, you should try to make it as exact as possible on the first try and then change it if you think it needs it. I put the cinnamon in with a wince on my face, but I have to say I liked the final flavor quite a bit, and it smelled devine. The only things I did differently was that the store didn't have ground alligator, but frozen slabs in packs, so I had to chop it up after thawing in the refrigerator overnight. Also I don't see any reason to cook canned beans for three hours so I added those in the last 30 minutes. Probably most important, I cooked it with the lid off. When you have this many spices, the evaporation process is what causes the melding of flavors that you want. You would just need to add some water, but I didn't find I needed any. The most important reason to cook it with the lid off, though, is that you don't want to confine that smell. The main reason I am not giving five stars is not the recipe itself, but that I'm not sure I like the taste of alligator that much. It's not bad at all, just not special enough to justify the price, which was $9 a pound. And it doesn't taste like chicken. I saw another reviewer compared it to rattlesnake meat. I've never had rattlesnake, but this is what I would imagine it would taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Waynerc38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was pretty good chile. I only used 1 pound of the alligator as it is very expensive here on the west coast. For myself I would leave out the cinnamon next time. My adult daughter, who generally won't eat anything that isn't frozen premade or heated out of a can, did enjoy this, even after I told her the main ingredient. To my taste, alligator is similar to rattlesnake, rather than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
As a vegetarian, I was impressed with this recipe, because I could easily substitute extra beans (cannellini and black beans) and vegetables for the alligator meat (I hate soy and won't use it!). This recipe has lots of beans and spices, so it's a great basic chili recipe. I especially like the spice blend, because I detest premade chili powder. I use coriander/fresh cillantro leaves as a garnish, along with some sour cream, cheddar cheese, and sliced green onions. (In case you're interested, I use corn (Green Giant Peaches and Cream ONLY (frozen or canned), diced carrots, onions, mixed sweet peppers, and sometimes peas and broccoli pieces (love the stems, peeled and diced!) in my chili.) Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Awesome, Doug! I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes in place of crushed because that's what was on hand. Served it at "Wild Game Day" - not a single bit left!!! We'll do this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I was in a hurry so just used a packet of the powder 'chili seasoning' from the store- which worked fine! I also put in crock pot! It made the house smell great - My favorite part is the green pepper. Very good, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizbeth7955

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Very good. Will be making often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I love my recipe. Since this was first submitted I have started using red & yellow peppers and a teaspoon of smoked paprika. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alligator Chili

What's cooking in Mendham, N.J.? Doug's chili, with a little bite.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

How to Make Chili

See how to mix up a big ol’ pot of chili—in just 99 seconds!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States