Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
People think I make the best Mac & cheese thanks to this recipe. I've never put in the ham & usually use a variety of cheeses including sharp cheddar & white cheddar. I broil it for a few minutes at the end to give it a nice crispy brown top crust. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I cooked this for my flatmates and they loved it. We make this every other week and there is never leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jiftie
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made it a little more spicy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this for my teenage daughter and her friends, and it was a huge hit! I think next time I would double the pasta. It was too much sauce and not enough pasta, although I substituted mezzo penne for the elbow macaroni, so I don't know if that would make a difference? I think you could use any cheese combination you liked for this recipe, so it would be fun to experiment. I can't imagine using half & half, though, because it was already so thick and rich. I used 2% milk. I also added a panko crumb topping (panko mixed with butter) for the last 15 minutes of bake time, because my daughter loves a topping on her mac & cheese. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laura010981
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I substituted the ham with bacon for a twist. It was a family hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I was looking for a non-processed, mother type macaroni and cheese recipe, and this is it. NICE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe is awesome. It's my first time making mac and cheese in years and it was delicious! Instead of the cheeses mentioned, I just asked the delicatessen for cheese ends (that's what my mom has always done for hers because they're cheap and you get a variety) and it came out great! I'm sure the other cheeses together would be lovely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
My husband loved this. Wants me to make it again! I took a few of the reviewers recommendations and used a quart of half & half, worcestershire and mustard. On top I added garlic & herb bread crumbs and sprinkled with smoked paprika. Thanks Allie for a great recipe for me to play with. It was my first time making my new husband's favorite dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Here's the basic recipe, w following changes that I took from other recipes....for cheeses, I used 8 oz ea sharp cheddar, monterey jack, and mozzarella, all grated before adding to the simmering roux of 5 tbs butter and 5 tbs flour I used gravy flour...i used one quart of fat free half and half instead of milk...also added pinch nutmeg, 1 tsp dijon mustard, 1 tsp worcestershire sauce, 1/2 lb tavern ham from deli counter, thickly sliced so I could dice it into very small pieces, 1/2 medium onion, grated...all gets mixed into the sauce....I.used 1 lb elbow macaroni, mix well with the sauce, poured into buttered casserole dish, and then topped w progresso italian bread crumbs, mixed w melted butter until crumbly, put in 400 oven for 25 mins or until brown on top, dont overcook...really delicious, and a lot of leftovers...ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I was disappointed in this recipe. It was really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States