Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I took advice from other reviewers and made some changes. I used a quart of half & half (instead of milk). I added a tsp of ground mustard & tsp of worchesh sauce. I also added some onion. I kept with other ingredients (as well). I used extra sharp cheddar & peppercorn jack. I did not use the mozerella. I lightly brushed top with bread crumbs. Drizzled a little butter and topped with a little extra shredded cheddar. It was an amazing texture. Looked so & smelled so yummy! Unfortunately, it was ruined when I followed baking instructions. I thought 45 mins to an hour sounded a bit much, but followed instructions. What a mistake! I think it baked out the flavor along with the creamy texture. 20 min baking time, more realistic. If you want crunchy on top, broil for about 3 mins after 20 mins of baking. I might try making this again with major baking changes. Oh yeah, after cooking noodles to al dente (about 7 mins) make sure you rinse in luke warm/cold water to prevent further cooking of pasta. That's the secret to all pasta based casseroles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
268 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2002
I LOVE this recipe! I remember making mac n cheese from scratch when I was a lot younger and was looking for a recipe that would give me that great taste. This is it!!! I left out the ham, used 12 oz macaroni since there is a lot of sauce, and added a teaspoon each of ground mustard and worcestershire sauce for extra flavor. I also added some melted butter to bread crumbs and crumbled over the top for a nice crispiness. It was sooo GOOD!!! Thanx Allie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
This was terrific macaroni and cheese! Per RUBENETTE'S suggestion, I also left out the ham, used 12 oz macaroni, and added a teaspoon each of ground mustard and worcestershire sauce. I also added some bread crumbs over the top for a nice crispiness. I have now made it twice, once with shredded cheese, and once with cubed cheese, and I like the shredded cheese much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
EXCELLENT! I didn't make the recipe verbatim though. I read a few reviews and made a few changes and it was wonderful. Instead of using cubes of the three different kinds of cheeses, I used 4 cups of Kraft Classic Melts Four Cheese (American, Wisconsin Sharp Cheddar, Vermont White Cheddar and Monterey Jack). It is shredded and didn't take long at all to melt. Also, I didn't let the roux cook for 1-2 minutes. As soon as the roux started to bubble, I slowly added the milk. Instead of cayenne, I added 1/3 tsp. of chili powder. And I only cooked it for 35 minutes - I noticed that if I had let it cook any longer, it would have dried out the top part. Thanks Alyson for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
Wonderful!! I thought this was the best mac n' cheese I've ever made. Even my husband who does not eat usually eat mac and cheese asked when I was going to make it again. I made a few changes in the recipe however. I also uses 12 oz not 8 of noodles. I did not use mozzarella at all but used 7.5 oz of both the Cheddar and Jack (shredded not cubed). I also used milk and 1/2 & 1/2 not just milk, and I added more cayenne pepper. Thank you again Alyson for this wonderful recipe! It's become one of our favorites. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mld685

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I made this once on a whim, and have made it several times since. It's one of our household favorites. I try to make it at least once a month; if I don't, I am sure to be reminded and asked! I omit the ham because I don't eat red meat. Once in while I will add crispy turkey bacon for that meaty flavour. The three cheeses are a nice combination, but I find it tastes excellent with just sharp cheddar and jack cheeses. Depending on my mood, sometimes I alternate chili powder for cayenne. They both work well. Sometimes I dare to use half cream (or half & half) and half milk. Eight bites makes this a meal! Especially excellent in winter. Excellent recipe, Allie! A definite keeper, and permanant addition to my "usuals."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I loved this recipe!I didn't use the ham,though. And whoever said to add a smoked gouda cheese to this recipe..was wrong! If you are using this recipe for the first time, do not listen to that person! that cheese will overpower everyother cheese in the recipe(and ruin it!)I added 8-oz. instead of 5,because I like mine a lil' cheesy. And make sure to WARM up the milk! if you don't, it will ruin the sauce(i did this and wondered why it came out so bad).I microwaved it until I could see the milk "skin"..this recipe taste better than my dad's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I made this last night and followed the directions perfectly and was disappointed. I am a cheese lover so I thought the amount of cheese it called for was fine, but upon tasting it, the dish had way too much mozz cheese, after eating a few bites I felt 500lbs. My daughter who is 3 tried it and passed on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
YUM! I doubled the amount of ham and used shredded cheeses so they would melt easier. It is really important that the milk be warm in order for the sauce to come together properly too. I just microwaved the milk for a couple minutes to avoid scalding it. This was really great and it made a lot, so we had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
My family loved it. My daughter who is very PICKY in what she eats, ate it all up. She said it was the best mac and cheese she had. I would make it again. I thought it had too much of a flour taste and not enough cheesy taste. I think next time not so much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States