Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I had never made a roux before so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I doubled the recipe and added two handfuls of extra macaroni as well as two cups of chopped broccoli instead of ham. Used mostly sharp cheddar, cheddar jack and covered the top with ~ cup of mozzarella and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Change the ham to bacon and add 1/2 of a beer and worchestershire sauce to the cheese sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Thank you Allie. This was delicious. I did make one change due to a milk-sensitive hubbie - I used chicken broth instead of milk. Perfectly creamy, cheesy...a delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
followed evrything so it seems the taste was right ,but not the taste i really wanted to.Seems too oily when i took it out anyway from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakurambo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
my family did not really like this. Next time I will try something with no ham and a crumbly topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This was so, so very good! Oh my goodness. Its like heaven in a spoon. As RUBENETTE suggested, I also left out the ham, used 12 oz macaroni, and added a teaspoon each of ground mustard and worcestershire sauce. I also added some bread crumbs over the top and it made it even more yummy and crispy. Will make again and again. Wish there was some left over to eat right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I wish I had all the ingredients to make this recipe as given even so - this recipe came out as a 5 star without the ham, pepper or paprika! I loved it! Thanks for the recipe it is a keeper and I promise to have all the ingredients next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Yummo! This was really really good. We made it as the recipe stated just throwing some breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese on the top before baking for good measure and it was perfect. Not perfectly good for you but perfect as far as comforting mac and cheese goes. I will be retrying this recipe with different variations of cheese in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Yumm... the ultimate in comfort food! I made this to go with The Best Meatloaf (so I ommitted the ham) and it was sooo good! My kids loved it!!! I used 5 oz. of jack/cheddar mix shredded, 5 oz. of mozz shredded, and 5 oz of kraft American Cheese slices that I wanted to get rid of. I then topped with about 1/2 cup of panko bread crumbs mixed with about 2 TB melted butter. Cooked for about 40 minutes--broiled for the last couple mins to brown the bread crumbs. Oh, used 2 cups skim and 2 cups 2% (warmed in micro for a min) and it was plenty creamy!! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I love this one... I made it the way it says the first time minus the ham around Thanksgiving and my family loved it. I then made it again for Chirstmas , but I left out the hame again and switch the cheeses to 15 oz of Velveeta. It is so much creamer this way. I am not required to make this version for every family gathering now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States