Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Grreat !!! I did not change a thing, This recipe is perfect just the way it is. Will make it again. Thank You for the wonderful Mac & Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Really looks and is good. My neighbors raved. I'm cooking for one so I share some and freeze the rest. Do take your chorlestrol medicine before eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good recipe to use as a basic guideline. I omitted the mozzarella and ham. I substituted 1 cup of heavy cream for the milk and increased the pasta to 12 oz (penne). I also cut the baking time to 20 minutes and broil for 1 minute. I definitely used a good 4 shakes of cayenne. It comes out very buttery and you can cut and eat it with a knife and fork. Not all sloppy and spoony and bland. The cheese incorporated nicely, but it will clump together if you turn the heat off before mixing with the pasta, so I'd just leave it on low while mixing. A little more cream might make it incorporate more easily. I also highly advise using fresh-ground black pepper. I might add pulverized garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I have made this three times now and every time it comes out pasty and way too floury, I have tried to make it differently according to other peoples directions and it always turns out bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinaddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was great! I've made several mac n' cheese recipes, and I think what makes this one so good is the quart of milk. Many recipes only use a couple of cups of milk, turning out dry. It turned out very creamy, even reheated. Perfect! I used Louisiana hot sauce instead of cayenne. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
nice recipe... enjoyed it and got good reviews from the people who at it with me. I did mess up the cheese to milk ratio a bit, but it came out very cheesy and was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was pretty good, but slightly bland. I even omitted the mozzarella and used equal parts sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack. I also added 1 tsp ground mustard and 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. I might try it again and play around with increasing the cayenne or adding other spices. It's a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good Mac & Cheese ! Almost as good as my mother made :) I used 8 oz Sharp orange cheddar and 8 oz mild white cheddar. My wife had never had real baked mac & cheese, she heated Kraft Velveeta and poured it over cooked mac so she loves this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This did not work for me. Will have to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This didn't turn out well for me. I followed the directions; however, it has a very floury taste and the cheese flavor was missing something. Because I didn't want to throw it away, I added a large block of cubed Velveeta before I added the ham and macaroni, put the lid on the saucepan, and let the Velveeta melt. This definately helped the flavor. I think I'll keep looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States