Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was great! I've made several mac n' cheese recipes, and I think what makes this one so good is the quart of milk. Many recipes only use a couple of cups of milk, turning out dry. It turned out very creamy, even reheated. Perfect! I used Louisiana hot sauce instead of cayenne. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
nice recipe... enjoyed it and got good reviews from the people who at it with me. I did mess up the cheese to milk ratio a bit, but it came out very cheesy and was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was pretty good, but slightly bland. I even omitted the mozzarella and used equal parts sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack. I also added 1 tsp ground mustard and 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. I might try it again and play around with increasing the cayenne or adding other spices. It's a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good Mac & Cheese ! Almost as good as my mother made :) I used 8 oz Sharp orange cheddar and 8 oz mild white cheddar. My wife had never had real baked mac & cheese, she heated Kraft Velveeta and poured it over cooked mac so she loves this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This did not work for me. Will have to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This didn't turn out well for me. I followed the directions; however, it has a very floury taste and the cheese flavor was missing something. Because I didn't want to throw it away, I added a large block of cubed Velveeta before I added the ham and macaroni, put the lid on the saucepan, and let the Velveeta melt. This definately helped the flavor. I think I'll keep looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Wow - this was super easy AND delicious. What I loved about this recipe is that it can be made as is and served as a creamy style mac n cheese, or can also be baked and be more set. We loved it both ways. I also threw in some crumbled bacon and it took it to a new level of yummy complexity. I really think the mustard is key - it seems to amplify all of the flavors. Make this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My son loved it; it was great to say that I made homemade macaroni! I would recommend using diced ham and not cubed. A ham loving child will pick out the cubes, diced would allow the ham to penetrate more of the mix, we will use diced next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mighty Mouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was a really good recipe. I didn't have any ham so I used hotdogs instead. Also, I used a 16oz package of macaroni instead of 8oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
One word...EXCELLENT! Thanks for posting this delicious recipe! I'm generally not a fan of homemade mac & cheese. It always seems too dry to me, but this was sooooo good. Creamy and perfectly cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hagtag1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States