Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was great! I've made several mac n' cheese recipes, and I think what makes this one so good is the quart of milk. Many recipes only use a couple of cups of milk, turning out dry. It turned out very creamy, even reheated. Perfect! I used Louisiana hot sauce instead of cayenne. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
nice recipe... enjoyed it and got good reviews from the people who at it with me. I did mess up the cheese to milk ratio a bit, but it came out very cheesy and was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was pretty good, but slightly bland. I even omitted the mozzarella and used equal parts sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack. I also added 1 tsp ground mustard and 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. I might try it again and play around with increasing the cayenne or adding other spices. It's a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Very good Mac & Cheese ! Almost as good as my mother made :) I used 8 oz Sharp orange cheddar and 8 oz mild white cheddar. My wife had never had real baked mac & cheese, she heated Kraft Velveeta and poured it over cooked mac so she loves this !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This did not work for me. Will have to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This didn't turn out well for me. I followed the directions; however, it has a very floury taste and the cheese flavor was missing something. Because I didn't want to throw it away, I added a large block of cubed Velveeta before I added the ham and macaroni, put the lid on the saucepan, and let the Velveeta melt. This definately helped the flavor. I think I'll keep looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Wow - this was super easy AND delicious. What I loved about this recipe is that it can be made as is and served as a creamy style mac n cheese, or can also be baked and be more set. We loved it both ways. I also threw in some crumbled bacon and it took it to a new level of yummy complexity. I really think the mustard is key - it seems to amplify all of the flavors. Make this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
My son loved it; it was great to say that I made homemade macaroni! I would recommend using diced ham and not cubed. A ham loving child will pick out the cubes, diced would allow the ham to penetrate more of the mix, we will use diced next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mighty Mouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This was a really good recipe. I didn't have any ham so I used hotdogs instead. Also, I used a 16oz package of macaroni instead of 8oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rota, Andalucia, Spain
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
One word...EXCELLENT! Thanks for posting this delicious recipe! I'm generally not a fan of homemade mac & cheese. It always seems too dry to me, but this was sooooo good. Creamy and perfectly cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hagtag1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States