Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Instead of salt, I used a chicken bouillon cube. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was really good. Just watch the baking time- 60 minutes would be way too long. I did 25 and it was perfect. I used about 12 oz. of wagon wheel pasta, havarti instead of mozz, extra sharp white cheddar, and pepper jack instead of montery jack. It was really good- I had to make myself stop taking more and more. It was a big hit with my husband, and 5-year old and one year old. My baby just kept eating it long after everyone else was done! Lol. My only complaint is that it took a long time to prepare, and dirtied more pots than the usual mac and cheese, what with the heating up of the milk (I didn't have a clean microwave safe bowl that was big enough though.) I did use the ham and really enjoyed that. Served this with green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Made it twice to get it right; first time grainy, second perfect! Must take time to make roux. Milk must be hot, but not scalded or dish is ruined. Here is what I did for a large serving: 16 oz shell pasta, 8 tbl butter/flour, 2 qts milk, 16 oz jack/cheddar, 8 oz 5 cheese parmisian moz combo, 4 oz velveeta NO ham, Bake only 20 minutes. Roux must be made per directions, slowly, constant stir and slow add very warm/hot milk. Let thicken and then add cheese. I used Tone's cajun spice mix, 3 tsp, and 1tsp salt. It had a slight bite, but very creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving and I got soooo many compliments. It was absolutely delicious. I did alter the recipe just a lil bit. I used 8 oz of cheese rather than 5oz. I used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper rather than a pinch and I skipped the paprika. I will absolutely by making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I followed the recipe but went along with previous users' suggestions and added worscenstershire sauce and mustard powder. I used the cheeses I had on hand. I added more cheese than the recipe called for and still it wasn't cheesy enough. This came out more like a macaroni casserol than a mac and cheese. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
OK, so hubby informs me yesterday morning that a pre-Thanksgiving meal is to take place at his office today and that he is expected to bring something. With too many desserts already on the list, he is convinced a side dish is in order. After making several suggestions (none of which he liked) I finally asked, "What about homemade Mac & Cheese"? Now, I should mention at this point that I have always been known as someone who cooks everything fast and on HIGH...not to mention the fact that the only Macaroni and cheese I had EVER made came in a blue box. BUT...I figured, "How hard can it be"? Well...thankfully, I found this site and this recipe!!! I had purchased everything we needed and was ready to cook when hubby got home from work last night...and, for what its worth, we actually had a blast! Who knew cooking could be so much fun?? AND...here's the real kicker! Hubby called today after the dinner had ended; two different people told him it was the best mac & cheese they had ever eaten!!! So...he comes home tonight, bringing what was left...approximately the equivalent of 2 large serving spoons full and THAT WAS IT!!! (Oh, and did I mention we TRIPLED the recipe??) Anyway...absolutely amazing!! I will definitely make it again! I did take the advice of a couple of people who posted reviews and we, too, left out the ham. Also, we used shredded cheese, rather than cubed and half & half rather than milk. No more blue box for me!!! I'm a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Ok this was alright. I think I messed something up though. Next time I will leave out the ham and use much less flour. I am not sure if it was my fault or if it was the recipe (probably me though);) . And it wasn't terrible. Was kind of bland though. I will give this an honest try again and report back! Oh and my two year old son loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My two very NON-picky kids wouldn't touch it. I took a bite and it was spongy and not nearly cheesy enough. I followed the recipe exactly except I sprinkled extra cheese on top (that was the best part) It's just not for us at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Niezgocki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Thia recipe was fantastic and everyone who tried it, loved it. I also added the mustard and bread crumbs etc. It was delicious. The reason it gets a 4 instead of 5 rating is because it definitely takes about 45 mintues to prepare and only needs about 25 minutes to cook and 3 mintues to broil and make the breadcrumbs crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a delicious mac and cheese. I used shells. I didn't add the ham, and I used the cheeses I had on hand, cheddar, colby and montery jack, and muenster and it turned out great. I think it's really in the cheese sauce. I thought a quart of milk was a bit much and I was half a cup short, but it turned out great. I cooked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States