Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Really didnt care for this. Maybe I am not a homemade mac n cheese lover. Did not care for the consistency at all. Nobody in our house cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
My kids don't like mac n' cheese but the grownups loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2theC4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Delicious is the right word here!!! We had a huge ham for Easter which meant lots of leftovers to use up, this recipe was perfect! My few moderations are: I used a whole box of elbow macaroni (1 lb) and crushed up some french fried onions for the top, baked 30 minutes . I never made a white sauce before so I was worried it would be horrible but with these easy to follow directions it came out great, Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~jz~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This basic recipe is a staple in our house. I make this often and its actually easy and quick once you do it a few times. DO use more pasta than is required. You really can use close to a 1lb of pasta with this amount of sauce. Make sure your roux is thick before you add the cheese. I sometimes replace a 1/2 to one cup of heavy cream in place of same amount of milk - makes it so creamy but does make it much richer. Also- pasta needs to be JUST al dente and not overcooked when you bake it. I use whatever cheese and macaroni I have on hand. My favorite is to use sharp cheddar and I sometimes add some Emeril's Essence in it for a kick when bringing to a party. For kids its great just as is. Good with cheddar cheese and bread crumbs on top as well. I made this with leftover Easter ham and my kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I'm on the fence with this one. Half the family liked it and half didn't. The consistency was great, but the taste was kind of bland (ended up putting on grated parmesan before eating it). I added ground mustard (1TSP) and a little more cheese (I used all shredded). I didn't add the ham. I made a topping out of shredded cheddar and panko bread crumbs and that was the best part! I will make this again, but I think it needs 2 stronger cheeses instead of 2 mild ones. I think maybe I'll try gorgonzola or Vermont Cheddar or even Velveeta in place of the Monterey Jack or Mozzerella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Cowan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This was pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was pretty good. It is definitely different than "the blue box" - to be expected from homemade. Other than burning the bottom of my pot (my fault - roux sauce got away from me), it wasn't bad. Not as flavorful as I was hoping so if I make it again, I'll increase the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneBiteRule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Instead of salt, I used a chicken bouillon cube. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was really good. Just watch the baking time- 60 minutes would be way too long. I did 25 and it was perfect. I used about 12 oz. of wagon wheel pasta, havarti instead of mozz, extra sharp white cheddar, and pepper jack instead of montery jack. It was really good- I had to make myself stop taking more and more. It was a big hit with my husband, and 5-year old and one year old. My baby just kept eating it long after everyone else was done! Lol. My only complaint is that it took a long time to prepare, and dirtied more pots than the usual mac and cheese, what with the heating up of the milk (I didn't have a clean microwave safe bowl that was big enough though.) I did use the ham and really enjoyed that. Served this with green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Made it twice to get it right; first time grainy, second perfect! Must take time to make roux. Milk must be hot, but not scalded or dish is ruined. Here is what I did for a large serving: 16 oz shell pasta, 8 tbl butter/flour, 2 qts milk, 16 oz jack/cheddar, 8 oz 5 cheese parmisian moz combo, 4 oz velveeta NO ham, Bake only 20 minutes. Roux must be made per directions, slowly, constant stir and slow add very warm/hot milk. Let thicken and then add cheese. I used Tone's cajun spice mix, 3 tsp, and 1tsp salt. It had a slight bite, but very creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States