Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very good! I just used one small ham steak and wasn't sure if it would be enough but it was plenty. Make sure you leave enough time for it to set the 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I used to make a macaroni and cheese recipe from my father that has been known as "Michael's Mac & Cheese". After trying this recipe and making some small changes over the years of using this recipe, it is definitely the best Mac & Cheese recipe around. I have been in search of the best Mac & Cheese and I haven't found one anywhere. The reason why this recipe is so good is because of the roux. Take the time it's worth it. I have also added 12 strips of bacon cooked in the oven and coarsely chopped in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael McNeil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Awesome. I made this last night and boy it beats the box kind ten fold and that's skipping the HAM. I added 5 ounces of Dubliner cheese and gave it a little kick. I mixed the sauce in just enough to coat the macaroni and spooned some on top (I have about 1 1/4 cup leftover, good for fondue). Baked for 45 minutes or so. The top was nice and chewy, the inside was perfectly cooked. I suggest that you keep it at about 1.5 to 2 inches thick, so it cooks evenly and less time. This will now be a staple recipe for get togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Sorry, but even with adding some Havarti cheese this was a little bland. The consisteny was great, just needed something more.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I make this yummy dish every Thanksgiving and the only reason there is ever leftovers is because now I purposely make two trays, one to serve at dinner and the other for people to take home as leftovers. The great thing about this dish is that it's very versatile, you can swap out any of the cheeses listed for another type of cheese to suit your tastes, also you can add other things like bacon, a can of diced tomatoes, turkey, jalapeños, whatever! Also for a creamier sauce you can add a can of evaporated milk (just reduce the amount of milk accordingly) The dish is very high calorie but it’s perfect for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Nirvana. As others have done, I used a whole 16oz of macaroni. I omitted the ham. For the cheeses, I used Cabot cheddar, jack, and some Chihuahua (Mexican white melting cheese). I couldn't have asked for better mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I've been looking for a good mac and cheese recipe for awhile, and this is the best one I've found. I left the ham out, to make it vegetarian. I took some other reviewers suggestions, and used 16 oz of macaroni instead of 8. I think it would have been much too soupy otherwise. I also sauteed some panko breadcrumbs in 2 tbsp of melted butter, and then added some shredded parmesan cheese and sprinkled it on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Good macaroni and cheese..still does not compare to my sister-in-laws, not as creamy ...but Good none the less. I did omit the cubed ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
i didn't follow the recipe exactly, only used cheddar and jack. used a pint of half and half and about half a cup more 2% milk. didn't use ham. added some shredded cheddar in with the macaroni before the sauce was added to hold together a bit. so good. my fiancee was very impressed and i will be definitely making this again. thank you for the recipe. oh, and a pound of macaroni is totally doable, there is plenty of cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
No one in my family of 5 was fond of this dish. I made it exact. It was dry and lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States