Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I made this with a few modifications because of what I had on hand. I increased the pasta to 12oz as others have suggested, and used mozz. and cheddar cheeses. I also doubled the ham to use up the Easter leftovers (1/4 pound isn't much for a 9x13 pan anyway, IMO). Added 1tsp powdered mustard and Worcestershire. DH gave it 5 stars, I gave it 3 because it was way too thick and creamy for my tastes, so overall, this received 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Very tasty and perfectly creamy. I loved the ham in there. I took note of other reviewers and used some half and half and the rest was milk. Also, I baked for 20min and broiled for a few more. The texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made this last night for my brother and his girlfriend. It was amazing! So yummy! I wouldn't change a thing. We had enought for all 4 of us and then I sent some home with them and kept some for us. They are enjoying it for lunch right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma2Landen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Grreat !!! I did not change a thing, This recipe is perfect just the way it is. Will make it again. Thank You for the wonderful Mac & Cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Really looks and is good. My neighbors raved. I'm cooking for one so I share some and freeze the rest. Do take your chorlestrol medicine before eating this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Good recipe to use as a basic guideline. I omitted the mozzarella and ham. I substituted 1 cup of heavy cream for the milk and increased the pasta to 12 oz (penne). I also cut the baking time to 20 minutes and broil for 1 minute. I definitely used a good 4 shakes of cayenne. It comes out very buttery and you can cut and eat it with a knife and fork. Not all sloppy and spoony and bland. The cheese incorporated nicely, but it will clump together if you turn the heat off before mixing with the pasta, so I'd just leave it on low while mixing. A little more cream might make it incorporate more easily. I also highly advise using fresh-ground black pepper. I might add pulverized garlic next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I have made this three times now and every time it comes out pasty and way too floury, I have tried to make it differently according to other peoples directions and it always turns out bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinaddis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was great! I've made several mac n' cheese recipes, and I think what makes this one so good is the quart of milk. Many recipes only use a couple of cups of milk, turning out dry. It turned out very creamy, even reheated. Perfect! I used Louisiana hot sauce instead of cayenne. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
nice recipe... enjoyed it and got good reviews from the people who at it with me. I did mess up the cheese to milk ratio a bit, but it came out very cheesy and was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was pretty good, but slightly bland. I even omitted the mozzarella and used equal parts sharp cheddar and Monterey Jack. I also added 1 tsp ground mustard and 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. I might try it again and play around with increasing the cayenne or adding other spices. It's a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States