Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Adrienne
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I usually prefer mac n cheese recipes with cheddar cheese but this one changed my mind. I know cheddar was in the recipe, but omit it and it'll taste so much better! I just so happened to have mozzarella and monterey jack cheese in the fridge so I thought I'd make some mac n cheese. I normally don't used roux's but thought I could manage this one time. For the milk, I would suggest eyeballing until the roux gets to your satisfaction. If it gets too thin, add more flour. Also try eyeballing the cheese to your satisfaction. I noticed that Lucerne & Kraft cheeses (with cream-cheese added to it) works best. To the cayenne pepper, I added a ton of red pepper flakes and about 1 tablespoon of cayenne (pepper doesn't bother my family) as well as some freshly ground black pepper. To the cheese mix, I also added sour cream for extra creaminess. Oh and add parmesan! It gives a nice extra kick of flavor. I will definitely double this recipe next time, it was finished within the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This is my go-to meal when I bring dinners to new moms or families in need. Everyone loves it--and it is kid-friendly! My only changes are I tend to use a bit more cheese and I use Sharp Cheddar, Swiss and Mozzarella as the cheeses, and I put panko bread crumbs on top for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My family loved this recipe!!! :) Thanks Allie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Great job, Allison. Wonderful recipe! I used a special blend of cheeses since I couldn't find monterey Jack in Spain. I used the mozzarella and cheddar though. The only thing I did differently was I omitted the ham. My fiancé asked me to add the ham in next time. I made this dish for my fiancé and his parents and they loved it. Thank you for sharing this great recipe. I love the consistency of milk and flour - nice creamy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
too much milk, bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I LOVED this macaroni and cheese! Such a nice change from the typical boxed stuff and the three cheeses go together so nicely. I did make some changes - left out the ham, cayenne pepper, and used margarine instead of butter, but it was delicious none the less. The only thing that stinks is the heaviness of this dish. You always want to eat more but it leaves you feeling VERY full very quickly. But it's safe to say I will definitely be making this meal again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Way too much milk in the recipe. Was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I vegify it and add a 1/2 cup frozen, drained spinach and puree it with the milk and also add 1/4 cup very fine chop carrot and sometimes 1/4 cup fine chop cauliflower. It's a great way to sneak in veggies for the kids! Good recipe which doesn't need half and half or any more fat than it's got already. It's creamy and cheesy in a nice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Made with the modifications (w. sauce, mustard) and added garlic salt and seasoned salt - still pretty bland. Next time would make wth american/velveeta or more cheddar, less of the white cheese. I skipped the ham because we didn't have any, but I think that would have helped. Maybe add some green peas or broccoli? Anyway, this recipe needs work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
VERY GOOD! This one should be the highst rated one on here as I have tried most of them. By far, this is my fav and I like that it does not have processed cheese in it. Per other suggestions I substituted cheddar cheese for the mozz, and added tsp mustard powder and Worcestershire sauce. PERFECT! I am making this for company tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States