Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I usually have good luck selecting recipes to try, but this one barely gets one star! It may have been something I did, but I read another entry that shared my same complaints...the smell while cooking, blandness, and consistancy where something I have never tasted with mac n' cheese. I ended up making the old tried and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New Hamburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I love this recipe, I was looking for a good mac & cheese recipe some time ago, and found this one. The problem is that my fiance HATES anything that didn't come out of a box, a product of his upbringing. I was looking desperately for something creamy, and that would please him. This was it! I added dry mustard and pepperjack though, and didn't use the "hot" spices, because he's not a big fan of those. I substituted pepperjack and dry mustard which gave it a really nice flavor too. I also want to stress that your sauce will not turn out if you scald the milk, you have to make sure it's warm, otherwise the cheeses won't blend correctly. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Octodexy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
I did not care too much for this. My husband liked it though. I thought the ham was very good here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
my whole family prefers homemade to kraft when it comes to mac n cheese I love fact that this recipe uses so many different cheeses I omitted the ham but think adding pepperoni might make a nice addition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
This was really good! I didn't use the ham and I added bread crumbs on the top. It was so creamy! My kids loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Delicious! I omitted the ham from the recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
was not too bad for a beginner, and i even added extra cheese and made extra to freeze and take to work! very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carlos, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This was great macaroni! :) I overcooked the sauce, so the texture wasn't what it should've been, but that's my fault. The taste is great! I topped with italian style bread crumbs then sprinkled the paprika. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
This macaroni recipe is a great combination of a traditional baked macaroni and the more modern creamy kind. Has aspects and flavors of both. The jack cheese gives it a nice kick but some younger children may be skeptical (mine had to be forced to try it, and then loved it). Made with "The Best Meatloaf" (also from this site). The flavors compliment and they cook at the same temperature. I made a double batch of this recipe and froze a portion. Ate it 2 weeks later and it was just as good. Allie - thanks for a great mac & cheese recipe to add to my collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Provence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I'm really surprised to see negative reviews of this recipe--especially for being "bland". It says that you should add spices "to taste," so, if it's too bland, you didn't follow the directions. I do add some dry mustard, use 4 oz of cream cheese as part of my 15 oz of cheese. I also substitute bacon for the ham and top it with a mixture of bread crumbs and butter. What I love about it is the ratio of creamy cheese sauce to pasta--it's really creamy. I always get compliments on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Alling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States