Allie's Delicious Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This was really good. Just watch the baking time- 60 minutes would be way too long. I did 25 and it was perfect. I used about 12 oz. of wagon wheel pasta, havarti instead of mozz, extra sharp white cheddar, and pepper jack instead of montery jack. It was really good- I had to make myself stop taking more and more. It was a big hit with my husband, and 5-year old and one year old. My baby just kept eating it long after everyone else was done! Lol. My only complaint is that it took a long time to prepare, and dirtied more pots than the usual mac and cheese, what with the heating up of the milk (I didn't have a clean microwave safe bowl that was big enough though.) I did use the ham and really enjoyed that. Served this with green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Made it twice to get it right; first time grainy, second perfect! Must take time to make roux. Milk must be hot, but not scalded or dish is ruined. Here is what I did for a large serving: 16 oz shell pasta, 8 tbl butter/flour, 2 qts milk, 16 oz jack/cheddar, 8 oz 5 cheese parmisian moz combo, 4 oz velveeta NO ham, Bake only 20 minutes. Roux must be made per directions, slowly, constant stir and slow add very warm/hot milk. Let thicken and then add cheese. I used Tone's cajun spice mix, 3 tsp, and 1tsp salt. It had a slight bite, but very creamy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Made this for Thanksgiving and I got soooo many compliments. It was absolutely delicious. I did alter the recipe just a lil bit. I used 8 oz of cheese rather than 5oz. I used 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper rather than a pinch and I skipped the paprika. I will absolutely by making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I followed the recipe but went along with previous users' suggestions and added worscenstershire sauce and mustard powder. I used the cheeses I had on hand. I added more cheese than the recipe called for and still it wasn't cheesy enough. This came out more like a macaroni casserol than a mac and cheese. I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
OK, so hubby informs me yesterday morning that a pre-Thanksgiving meal is to take place at his office today and that he is expected to bring something. With too many desserts already on the list, he is convinced a side dish is in order. After making several suggestions (none of which he liked) I finally asked, "What about homemade Mac & Cheese"? Now, I should mention at this point that I have always been known as someone who cooks everything fast and on HIGH...not to mention the fact that the only Macaroni and cheese I had EVER made came in a blue box. BUT...I figured, "How hard can it be"? Well...thankfully, I found this site and this recipe!!! I had purchased everything we needed and was ready to cook when hubby got home from work last night...and, for what its worth, we actually had a blast! Who knew cooking could be so much fun?? AND...here's the real kicker! Hubby called today after the dinner had ended; two different people told him it was the best mac & cheese they had ever eaten!!! So...he comes home tonight, bringing what was left...approximately the equivalent of 2 large serving spoons full and THAT WAS IT!!! (Oh, and did I mention we TRIPLED the recipe??) Anyway...absolutely amazing!! I will definitely make it again! I did take the advice of a couple of people who posted reviews and we, too, left out the ham. Also, we used shredded cheese, rather than cubed and half & half rather than milk. No more blue box for me!!! I'm a convert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Ok this was alright. I think I messed something up though. Next time I will leave out the ham and use much less flour. I am not sure if it was my fault or if it was the recipe (probably me though);) . And it wasn't terrible. Was kind of bland though. I will give this an honest try again and report back! Oh and my two year old son loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My two very NON-picky kids wouldn't touch it. I took a bite and it was spongy and not nearly cheesy enough. I followed the recipe exactly except I sprinkled extra cheese on top (that was the best part) It's just not for us at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Niezgocki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Thia recipe was fantastic and everyone who tried it, loved it. I also added the mustard and bread crumbs etc. It was delicious. The reason it gets a 4 instead of 5 rating is because it definitely takes about 45 mintues to prepare and only needs about 25 minutes to cook and 3 mintues to broil and make the breadcrumbs crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a delicious mac and cheese. I used shells. I didn't add the ham, and I used the cheeses I had on hand, cheddar, colby and montery jack, and muenster and it turned out great. I think it's really in the cheese sauce. I thought a quart of milk was a bit much and I was half a cup short, but it turned out great. I cooked it for 30 minutes and it was perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Took other reviewers advice, omitted ham, added dry mustard and worcestershire, increased amount of macaroni. The result was disappointing still - a lot of work and SO bland! If I decide to try again I'd use stronger cheeses only, like sharp cheddar. But I will probably look elsewhere for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Allie’s Delicious Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make a classic homemade three-cheese casserole.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Baked Macaroni and Cheese I

How do you make a better mac & cheese bake? Add bacon!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States