Allie's Awesome Easy Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
It stuck to the pan, inside fell apart and looks like it fell when baking very slightly. It also seemed mushy, or wet, still inside (even though the toothpick trick seemed fine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Thank you for posting this! I loved it all, although it kind of fell apart because I didn't wait long enough to take out of the pan.... Despite the user error it was indeed awesome! I left out the walnuts, I used the cream cheese glaze another reviewer suggested and threw sliced almonds on top. Also used coconut flour (1/3 C) Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Perfect cake and yes it gets better and better the longer you have it. Had a week old piece today and it was better then the first day it was made. Served it with fresh whipped cream and powdered sugar. Followed the recipe as written and there is no need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs N

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
OMG! I was hungry for a good dessert but didn't want to spend a long time making it. This turned out perfectly. I halved the recipe and put in a 9x5 loaf pan. Only thing I didn't halve was the cinnamon. Took advice of others and used half white and half brown sugar. I was worried it wouldn't come out of pan so I greased it, "pammed" it, and then floured it. (Probably overkill but it worked). Like others, cutting the apples into small pieces was a good move. Also, per one recommendation, I used pie filling that had no corn syrup - I think it was Lucky Leaf brand. Added about 1/3 cup of plumped up raisins per someone's comment as well. Great spice level. Maybe I'll try a cream cheese mascarpone icing on it. (Not that it needs frosting - I just have some leftover mascarpone cheese). I'm also going to try toasting a piece tomorrow for breakfast. It's so easy - hard to believe it's that good. It did take awhile to bake in the loaf pan - probably 35 minutes or so, but I just kept checking it until the knife was "crumbly" clean. No need to halve this recipe in the future! TUVM, Allie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This cake is wonderful! I used a 20-ounce can of apple pie filling, but ran my knife through the can several times to make smaller pieces. I sprayed and generously floured my bundt pan, and the cake released without a problem. It's very moist and simply delicious. I subbed pecans for walnuts, as I had them in the freezer. It's quick and easy to throw together, too. In my opinion, it was even better the next day. Thanks, Allie, for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wonderful cake! I only had homemade peach pie filling and didn't have nuts. I reduced the sugar by half a cup- per reviewer suggestions. I used 2 and a half cups of peach pie filling- and omitted the cloves entirely because we are not a fan of cloves.. The rest is PERFECTION! It baked in 50 minutes, did not stick either and the house smelled lovely! I think those who had problems with it being sticky is because store bought pie fillings can contain corn syrup and starch which mine didn't have. In any case it's a wonderful cake and it will be my go to spice cake for this years holidays! I will probably make it with peach again since I still have more of the filling but I bet it will be amazing with it's original apple filling too and the nuts will certainly make it better. Thanks Allie for suggesting this cake :) It's a hit with my family!---UPDATE: OMG! it is %200 better the next day. You can taste the fruit much more when it sits longer. If making for a party make a day in advance. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
This ? is for AllieGeekPi who submitted this recipe. What went wrong? I baked it and it fell, after checking at 55minutes. Baked total of one hour 10 min. I followed instructions, stirring all the dry ingredients into the wet mixture. Too much stirring with spoon?? It smelled SO good too. I live at one mile above sea level, but have success with adding 2 TBS flour to all cakes. Thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I love spice, but this was WAY too strong and I omitted the cloves. I cannot imagine more spice. I know different pie fillings are spiced differently, but this was over the top. I like the general concept and way the recipe turns out and may try again with other pie filling flavors. I think the apples are too chunky, too. Less sugar would also be a good alteration. This recipe has potential, but needs tweaking for my taste, and I eat almost anything sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Tasted very good but not like spice cake I have had before. Mine did not hold together coming out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made it as written. Very good, we drizzled it with butter glaze. Grease and flour the pan generously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States