Allie's Awesome Easy Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is a wonderful cake. My house smelled amazing while this was baking. I made the cake batter as directed but used up some Drunken Apples (personal recipe a lot like pie filling)from last nights dinner - I simply weighed out 20 ounces on my scale to match the can size used. I had a little more than 1 cup of nuts left in the bag so I just used them all. The cake came out of the pan easily and presented beautifully. I made an Amaretto Caramel Sauce and poured over top with some crushed nuts. We enjoyed a nice warm slice with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream. What can I say except plates were licked clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is one of those recipes that when you’re mixing it together you’re thinking, “Oh ya, this is going to be really good.” Then while it’s baking in the oven and the house smells like heaven you’re thinking. ‘Oh ya, this is going to be really good.” Finally, you get to cut a slice and have a bite and you’re thinking, “Oh ya, this is really good.” Thanks for sharing Allie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...AWESOME is only one word to describe this cake...It is absolutely FANTASTIC! I could not believe how simple it was to mix up. It actually took longer to find my spices in the cabinet than it did to make this cake, lol. I did omit the walnuts, but that was only because I forgot to add them, (I'll try not to forget for next time, lol). This smelled wonderful while baking, and tastes even better. I did make a simple powdered sugar icing, just to decorate the top a bit. Very moist and yummy...a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing, Allie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Fantabulous Apple Spice Cake! Perfect blend of spices, moist, loved the chunks of apple from the apple pie filling (made my own filling using Apple Pie Filling by Terri), easy to make, smelled wonderful baking and tastes great. Good one Allie!! Thanks for sharing. (recipe made for *RECIPE GROUP*) Update: Had a piece of this cake for breakfast and it's even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Absolutely yummy! My husband said, "You can make this anytime." I actually think the cake is its best the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I am the original submitter of this recipe.  Special thanks to my mom for teaching me how to make this cake. This recipe is flexible, you can sub the apple pie filling with peach or other flavor you like. Sub pecans for walnuts. The volume of the Bundt pan that this cake works in is 10 cups.  This cake is so good it will impress-- and only you will know how simple it was to make." http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/63532592/allies-awesome-easy-spice-cake/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Wonderful - moist cake. So easy to make and it is absolutely delicious. No frosting needed. Great with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Thank you Allie for sharing your recipe. It is sooo moist and delicious. I used my own canned apple pie filling, chopped pecans and dusted lightly with powdered sugar. It smelled heavenly while baking. I baked for about 55 minutes. The best spice cake I've tasted in a long time - well maybe FOREVER. Congratulations on having your recipe kitchen approved by AR. It is a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I could hardly wait for this to come out of the oven... the lovely smell of this cooking brought curious family members hovering around asking when this would be ready. It was made and all gone in a few short hours. Simple, moist and delicious....I omitted the nuts due to allergy and added a bit more clove and nutmeg only because of our preferences..... Thanks Allie, this will be made again and again. I plan to make one for my Mom..she'll love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this cake for my father for Easter dinner and everyone loved it. Extremely moist and full of flavor. The only alteration I made was adding some raisins. I had a little trouble getting the cake out of the pan so make sure you grease and flour well. Topped it with a cream cheese frosting glaze and it was perfect. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Would have loved to post a photo but my family ate the entire cake before I could take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States