Allie's Awesome Easy Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I am the original submitter of this recipe.  Special thanks to my mom for teaching me how to make this cake. This recipe is flexible, you can sub the apple pie filling with peach or other flavor you like. Sub pecans for walnuts. The volume of the Bundt pan that this cake works in is 10 cups.  This cake is so good it will impress-- and only you will know how simple it was to make." http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/63532592/allies-awesome-easy-spice-cake/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is one of those recipes that when you’re mixing it together you’re thinking, “Oh ya, this is going to be really good.” Then while it’s baking in the oven and the house smells like heaven you’re thinking. ‘Oh ya, this is going to be really good.” Finally, you get to cut a slice and have a bite and you’re thinking, “Oh ya, this is really good.” Thanks for sharing Allie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Thank you Allie for sharing your recipe. It is sooo moist and delicious. I used my own canned apple pie filling, chopped pecans and dusted lightly with powdered sugar. It smelled heavenly while baking. I baked for about 55 minutes. The best spice cake I've tasted in a long time - well maybe FOREVER. Congratulations on having your recipe kitchen approved by AR. It is a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is a great and easy recipe and does not need a frosting. I used a 13x9 pan and baked for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 30, March 2013 ~ Delicious cake! Having just returned from vacation, I did not have a can of apple pie filling on hand. I did as Linda (LMT) suggested and made a scaled back ‘Apple Pie Filling’ by Terri to use in this recipe. It worked perfectly. The house smelled amazing while baking. We enjoyed it the first serving - warm. The second serving, my family actually enjoyed this the next day for breakfast – toasted. They cut it thin and popped it in the toaster. We enjoy banana bread, orange bread, plum bread, etc. toasted and we all enjoyed this apple cake the same way. Tonight they ate it at room temp and they informed me that it is very good that way also. Thanks, Allie for a delicious recipe. It works 2 ways in our house – as a dessert and as a breakfast treat. It will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. Although, I have had it in my recipe box for a bit. The guys give it a thumbs up and they are spice cake aficionados. I didn't have any nutmeg and just subbed in some extra cinnamon. The cloves are a little too strong for me, but that is only my aversion to the taste. (I still like a little bit). I also used applesauce for the oil. I have nutmeg now and will make it again, maybe without the pie filling. Thanks Allie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Absolutely yummy! My husband said, "You can make this anytime." I actually think the cake is its best the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Awesome! My mother's 80th birthday party was tonight & she loves spice cake. I usually get a box of cake mix, but I thought I'd try to make a spice cake from scratch for her big day. So, I tried this recipe: it was a huge hit! I varied a little from the recipe, however. I used a can of organic apple pie filling that was just apples and water (I was a bit leery of using canned apple pie filling because of the additives), so I added some extra spice to the mixture to make up for the un-spiced apple filling: allspice & ginger. It turned out fantastic. Don't be alarmed if the cake is a bit dark though. I really thought I had burned it but it tasted great. I also added a bit of cream cheese glaze (4 oz. cream cheese, 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla & 2 tblsp. of milk). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this cake for my father for Easter dinner and everyone loved it. Extremely moist and full of flavor. The only alteration I made was adding some raisins. I had a little trouble getting the cake out of the pan so make sure you grease and flour well. Topped it with a cream cheese frosting glaze and it was perfect. Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Would have loved to post a photo but my family ate the entire cake before I could take a picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Just made it again for my birthday and made these changes to the recipe to prevent it falling. I added 2 T's of flour, subtracted 2 T's of sugar, added an extra egg, substituted applesauce for the oil, and baked at 375 degrees for one hour...came out perfect !!! We live in Colorado at 7400 feet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States