Allana's Zesty Red Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dusty
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I really enjoyed this, I did add more vegetables and spiced it up a bit more with some Cayenne Pepper then about 1/2 cup of heavy cream. We ate some before and after the cream and everyone agreed it was a better texture with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dusty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I have always made good red clam chowder. Very traditional. I decided this recipe sounded interesting so I tried it. Doubled it and added some slight modifications such as fresh peeled shrimp ect... Everyone loved it! It was amazing! Left overs didn't last long at all. Probably will never wing my old recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent seafood soup. Even better than the one I had on Isla Mujeres. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Made this for my soup loving pregnant wife and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
LOVED your soup, Allana! This was perfect for lunch today. I prepared with just minor tweaks. I sauteed the bacon in a little cannola oil right in the soup pot and removed, then added the veggies including the potatoes & a spoonful of minced garlic, for their saute, about ten minutes or so. I then added everything into the soup pot, including the salad shrimp and clams. Loved all of the spices, fun raiding the spice cabinet. I did use celery salt for the seasoned salt, no powdered garlic (used minced) and perhaps a little more generous scoops. I also added a cup of chicken/tomato broth, as I like more broth and simmered this a good two hours covered before serving. Delish! As a previous reviewer mentioned, this would also be great with a couple of splashes of heavy cream, perhaps next time to mix it up, but very good (and lower calorie) as-is. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We really liked this soup. I have also subbed small bay scallops for the shrimp and it was really good that way too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good, my boyfriend loved it! I added more clams, but that was the only change I made. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Alot of work chopping all the ingredients and all the spices, but well worth it. Like a good chili, it tastes best the next day when all the flavors have blended together. I used fresh already shucked clams that I bought from a chinese market, so the clams were plentiful and flavorful, not rubbery. Left out the shrimp since I'm allergic, but probably would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deafsetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We thought this was really good. Used fresh shrimp other then that made as written. I would totally make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I made this last night and I think it turned out great. There are some changes, however, that I made. First,I would saute the celery by itself for about 4 minutes before adding any other vegetables to the pot(this would ensure that it wouldn't be still crunchy at the end of simmering). I would not add the bacon; cut the 1/4 tsp of white pepper to 1/8th tsp; instead of 5 drops of hot sauce, only add 3, and before simmering for 20 minutes, add 1 1/4 cup of hot water, to make it more of a soup/chowder consistency. Without adding the water, it would have been way to thick and chuncky for me. Overall, my whole family was impressed. Thank you Allana for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States