Allana's Zesty Red Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Very different from your ordinarry clam chowder - spicy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOEY ANNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Nobody liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Made this for my soup loving pregnant wife and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
The recipe needs more clams and I think more bacon. I will try it again though with these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Alot of work chopping all the ingredients and all the spices, but well worth it. Like a good chili, it tastes best the next day when all the flavors have blended together. I used fresh already shucked clams that I bought from a chinese market, so the clams were plentiful and flavorful, not rubbery. Left out the shrimp since I'm allergic, but probably would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deafsetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I made this last night and I think it turned out great. There are some changes, however, that I made. First,I would saute the celery by itself for about 4 minutes before adding any other vegetables to the pot(this would ensure that it wouldn't be still crunchy at the end of simmering). I would not add the bacon; cut the 1/4 tsp of white pepper to 1/8th tsp; instead of 5 drops of hot sauce, only add 3, and before simmering for 20 minutes, add 1 1/4 cup of hot water, to make it more of a soup/chowder consistency. Without adding the water, it would have been way to thick and chuncky for me. Overall, my whole family was impressed. Thank you Allana for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Maybe a little too hot. Reduce ground Pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was so delicious!! I made it without the bacon, to save some fat from the recipe and because I don't eat meat, and the flavor was still wonderful! I also added a few shrimp that i had that needed to be used up and they were a wonderful surprise while i was eating this soup! I made an entire crock-pot full of this, and my family ate it within two days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent seafood soup. Even better than the one I had on Isla Mujeres. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good, my boyfriend loved it! I added more clams, but that was the only change I made. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States