Allana's Zesty Red Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Very different from your ordinarry clam chowder - spicy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOEY ANNA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2001
Nobody liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Made this for my soup loving pregnant wife and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
The recipe needs more clams and I think more bacon. I will try it again though with these additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Alot of work chopping all the ingredients and all the spices, but well worth it. Like a good chili, it tastes best the next day when all the flavors have blended together. I used fresh already shucked clams that I bought from a chinese market, so the clams were plentiful and flavorful, not rubbery. Left out the shrimp since I'm allergic, but probably would taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deafsetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I made this last night and I think it turned out great. There are some changes, however, that I made. First,I would saute the celery by itself for about 4 minutes before adding any other vegetables to the pot(this would ensure that it wouldn't be still crunchy at the end of simmering). I would not add the bacon; cut the 1/4 tsp of white pepper to 1/8th tsp; instead of 5 drops of hot sauce, only add 3, and before simmering for 20 minutes, add 1 1/4 cup of hot water, to make it more of a soup/chowder consistency. Without adding the water, it would have been way to thick and chuncky for me. Overall, my whole family was impressed. Thank you Allana for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avenel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Maybe a little too hot. Reduce ground Pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was so delicious!! I made it without the bacon, to save some fat from the recipe and because I don't eat meat, and the flavor was still wonderful! I also added a few shrimp that i had that needed to be used up and they were a wonderful surprise while i was eating this soup! I made an entire crock-pot full of this, and my family ate it within two days!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent seafood soup. Even better than the one I had on Isla Mujeres. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good, my boyfriend loved it! I added more clams, but that was the only change I made. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States