Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I love potato soup and this didn't disappoint. We found it creamy and delicious and seasoned exactly right. I was also impressed at how quickly it was ready. Bravo to posting this quick soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I love this soup! It's now the only Potato soup I make. Even my husband likes it and he is a picky eater. I substitute sausage for the ham and use pepper instead of seasoning salt. Great comfort food for those cold and rainy afternoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
We liked this very much. I added a little cheddar cheese 'cuz for me potato soup just isn't the same without it. Don't leave out the mustard, it really adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
SO DELICIOUS! And incredibly easy too. When I make it the next time, I'll cut the potatoes a lot smaller and add more ham. It definitely does not need a lot of salt - I lightly sprinkled seasoning salt, and it was still fairly salty (not too much, tho). But very delicious and very easy! Hubby thought I spent beaucoup time in the kitchen when really I had not! (it mostly cooks itself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
We love this soup. I make this at least once a month, more in the winter. If I'm in a hurry on weeknights, I use frozen southern style hasbrowns and they work great. I serve with cornbread and salad for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Earlham, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This turned out to be the best potato soup I have ever made. I had to add more stock to cover and cook the potatoes but it just has a wonderful flavor to it. I also added some carrots to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
The key to this recipe is to use the juice from the ham. I saved it after I baked the ham and used it in place of some of the chicken broth. It gave it a good rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
I loved this recipe. When I made it the second time, I substituted 1 1/2 C. half and half and 1/2 C. milk for the 1 1/2 cups milk it called for. I also used cream of mushroom soup, instead of the celery. I also found I preferred real diced garlic versus the garlic powder, so that's what I used. I might also use sea salt versus the seasoned, as I wasn't crazy about that flavor, combined with the ham. This is a tasty recipe and super easy, and it heats up really well. I would also recommend doubling for a crowd, or taking it to a soup supper potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
if i could rate it more than 5 stars i would! it is soooooooooooo good. this has got to be the BEST soup i have ever made/tasted. Instead of the ham i put turkey bacon and instead of the cream of celery i put cream of soup. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veeny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This soup was extreamly good. I made it exactly as listed except I did not have seasoning salt or blend - and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States