Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This soup is excellent.. I don't know why more people have not tried/reviewed it, I have making this for a couple years now, it's the only one I use for potato soup, serving it to my sewing group tonight, with homemade bread!!!! Try this recipe, you will NOT be dissapointed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Probably the best soup I have ever tasted, and it was made by me.....someone who has never made a soup before! Thank you for making it so easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Empson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Great recipe! The dijon mustard adds that hint of 'what is that secret ingredient?' to the dish. No extra seasoning needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Even though I had changed a few things, I give this one a 5 star plus.I made 16 servings and needed more! I'm lactose so I changed the 4cups of milk to 2cups(1can) coconut milk and 2cups of soy milk. I added 2 cans green beans,shredded carrots and followed others on the spices. Pepper instead of salt, chopped garlic and used all-seasonings. Wow, this soup is so quick and easy, will keep this to use many times. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Oh my, this was good! I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I used fresh garlic rather than the powder, and I left out the salt and other seasoning. It seemed to have plenty of flavor. Oh ya! I also partially mashed the potatoes to make the soup a little thicker. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
We love this soup. I make this at least once a month, more in the winter. If I'm in a hurry on weeknights, I use frozen southern style hasbrowns and they work great. I serve with cornbread and salad for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Earlham, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This soup was extreamly good. I made it exactly as listed except I did not have seasoning salt or blend - and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
SO DELICIOUS! And incredibly easy too. When I make it the next time, I'll cut the potatoes a lot smaller and add more ham. It definitely does not need a lot of salt - I lightly sprinkled seasoning salt, and it was still fairly salty (not too much, tho). But very delicious and very easy! Hubby thought I spent beaucoup time in the kitchen when really I had not! (it mostly cooks itself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
We liked this very much. I added a little cheddar cheese 'cuz for me potato soup just isn't the same without it. Don't leave out the mustard, it really adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
if i could rate it more than 5 stars i would! it is soooooooooooo good. this has got to be the BEST soup i have ever made/tasted. Instead of the ham i put turkey bacon and instead of the cream of celery i put cream of soup. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veeny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States