Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This soup is excellent.. I don't know why more people have not tried/reviewed it, I have making this for a couple years now, it's the only one I use for potato soup, serving it to my sewing group tonight, with homemade bread!!!! Try this recipe, you will NOT be dissapointed..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesterfield Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Probably the best soup I have ever tasted, and it was made by me.....someone who has never made a soup before! Thank you for making it so easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Empson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Great recipe! The dijon mustard adds that hint of 'what is that secret ingredient?' to the dish. No extra seasoning needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Even though I had changed a few things, I give this one a 5 star plus.I made 16 servings and needed more! I'm lactose so I changed the 4cups of milk to 2cups(1can) coconut milk and 2cups of soy milk. I added 2 cans green beans,shredded carrots and followed others on the spices. Pepper instead of salt, chopped garlic and used all-seasonings. Wow, this soup is so quick and easy, will keep this to use many times. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Oh my, this was good! I followed the recipe exactly as written, except that I used fresh garlic rather than the powder, and I left out the salt and other seasoning. It seemed to have plenty of flavor. Oh ya! I also partially mashed the potatoes to make the soup a little thicker. It's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
We love this soup. I make this at least once a month, more in the winter. If I'm in a hurry on weeknights, I use frozen southern style hasbrowns and they work great. I serve with cornbread and salad for a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Earlham, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This soup was extreamly good. I made it exactly as listed except I did not have seasoning salt or blend - and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
SO DELICIOUS! And incredibly easy too. When I make it the next time, I'll cut the potatoes a lot smaller and add more ham. It definitely does not need a lot of salt - I lightly sprinkled seasoning salt, and it was still fairly salty (not too much, tho). But very delicious and very easy! Hubby thought I spent beaucoup time in the kitchen when really I had not! (it mostly cooks itself)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
We liked this very much. I added a little cheddar cheese 'cuz for me potato soup just isn't the same without it. Don't leave out the mustard, it really adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
if i could rate it more than 5 stars i would! it is soooooooooooo good. this has got to be the BEST soup i have ever made/tasted. Instead of the ham i put turkey bacon and instead of the cream of celery i put cream of soup. it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veeny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States