Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Allana its a great soup. I do something like it my self But instead of onion I use Leeks I have found them much better. Allso if I have them I will put in some mush-rooms. Peter In New Zealand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Where do you get the ham? Do you have to buy a cooked ham? Adding potatoes and milk to canned soup is an odd way to "make" soup. Certainly is quick, unless you have to bake a ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This soup is very good. I followed the recipe to the letter the first time I made it. The second time I added mild cheddar cheese, and frozen whole kernel corn to the soup. I served it with corn bread, and the meal was just fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pascagoula, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Made this earlier today for a hearty snow day soup to warm everyone up. The boyfriend took his first bite and exclaimed, "This is kick butt!" Well, he used a different word. But, you get the point. I didn't add the garlic powder (forgot) and did not have any salt-free seasoning on hand. I semi-mashed some of the potato chunks when they became tender, just because I like that texture. The rest of it was made per the recipe. Served it with a big loaf of sourdough bread for dunking. They complimented each other well. This one is a new winter favorite. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Really easy to make and very tastey! I added some paprika for a little extra spice! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Googilliebear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very good! One of the more filling, flavorful potatoe soups I've had. I added some carrots and about a cup of finely shredded cheddar cheese for color and flavor. Will defineltly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Very good recipe! A nice, hardy soup for winter! My parents love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Whitewater, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This soup was so good and very easy. I substituted 8 oz. of the chicken broth with juice from the ham, sauted minced garlic with the onion and ham and used a half cup of heavy whipping cream in place of the milk. I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of celery because that's what was in the cupboard. And, I mashed up some of the potatoes. I'd definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This was a tasty soup, but isn't as creamy as I normally like my potato soup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I thought this soup was ok. It's not the best potato soup I've ever had. I mashed the potatos down to make it creamier. I also followed others suggestions and left out the salt. But I ended up adding some salt on my own because I felt it was necessary. I don't know if THAT much salt is needed, but some makes a big difference. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States