Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was really great - followed recipe exactly except excluded the ham and added turkey bacon instead, took some of the potatoes when it was done and mashed them, then added them back in -a nice mix of chunk and smooth...super yummy will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This recipe is a good base. Mine came out watery, next time I'll add 2 T of flour to the sauted ham and onions and brown. I added parsley, dill, and some cheddar cheese. Before it was too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Really delicious. Used low salt chicken broth, did not add any salt and was perfect. Also substituted the milk for skim milk. I also mashed the potatoes. Added spinach at the end. And, because I am a truffle junkie, I added a spoonfull to my plate (my hubby hates the stuff). OUT OF THIS WORLD. Having leftovers tonight. Tks Allana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I followed this recipe closely, in order to evaluate it properly. I did use more ham, so had to use more broth. I had a nearly empty jar of mustard and used it up, so there was more than 1 tbsp---perhaps 2. That left a bit more mustardy flavor than I would have preferred, yet it was delicious, rich, creamy and good. There are many fine recipes for potato soup, but in my experience this is one of the more flavorful and unique. Just stay close to the recommended ratios--or else, write your own. Bring 'em on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
this is aptly named, it is excellent! My husband went back for seconds and proclaimed me the best wife in the world the night I made this for dinner! It was easy to make and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSUTHERLAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe that can be modified with anything that's in your pantry! I only had beef broth, and I used ham lunch meat. I also substituted a large can of cream of mushroom. (Had to add more salt and added black pepper) I used the immersion blender to make it creamy and it was fantastic. This is a no fail recipe and SO quick!!! Thank you!!! Next time I'm going to try adding the corn like someone suggested. yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattiJo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellent soup! I added some corn to get some veggies in & extra salt b/c I didn't have seasoning blend. Made some homemade biscuits and it was a hit, my kids even loved it! Sooo easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellent soup! We put roasted garlic in with the onion and ham, and used Lactaid milk instead of regular milk, but other than that, we didn't change a thing. It was amazing and a great winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I am making this right now. The only difference is I am putting in a little bacon and no ham and some fresh garlic and herbs. And I will NOT add the canned soup. Gag! and the canned poato soup is nasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
It's not bad, but all it is is a couple of cans of soup with potatoes added. Why not just buy a can of potato soup?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States