Allana's Excellent Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Love potato soup! I used bacon instead of ham, added carrots and celery, and instead of cream of celery soup (I didn't have any) made a flour/milk thickener. My husband and I also like some heat, so I added a few dashes of tabasco sauce that made it amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by imaflipn
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This turned out awesome! So tasty! I made a couple minor changes just based on my tastes. I ended up using 3 cans of chicken broth because the taters weren't submerged in liquid. I boiled everything until the taters melted in my mouth. Didn't include the ham, instead topped each bowl with shredded cheddar, crumbled bacon and green onions. This one is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imaflipn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
We have made this potato Soup Recipe many times all with GREAT success. I know you will find the taste and flavor very good, also you will find this a very easy soup to make. So anyone will be able to make this and come out with excellent results. WE do use a ham slice that comes from a bone in ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Simple to make and everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This was a great recipe! Instead of butter I cooked up 4 slices of diced bacon and added the onions and potatoes to that! It gave the soup a really good flavor! I will so make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very good overall. The broth was a bit thin, so I will take the recommendations that might make it a creamier base. I need up taking this for lunch several days in a row and didn't get sick of it. I think that's a good sign :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I thought it needed a few more spices - maybe a little more salt - maybe I didn't add enough to begin with. I did not include the cooked ham - that could have been part of the spice/flavor problem. I did add a can of Great Northern Beans. They added protein and fiber to the meal. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEANNANB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a good recipe. One thing it was missing is carrots. I will add them in next time. Also, I didn't care too much for the ham, I think next time I will saute smoked sausage in place of the ham. Hubby said it needs bacon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Excellent, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Just okay for me. Made as written. It wasn't bad, by any means, but just seemed to be missing something. I have a few other potato soup recipes I enjoy much more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States