All-Star Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
For a Veggie Burger this was pretty good. Only giving it 3 stars due to the having to alter the recipe to get it to work. As other reviewers have posted it falls apart completely without the addition of eggs. I had to add 2 large eggs to the recipe. I also added cumin and taco seasoning, per other reviewers suggestion. Tasted good. My 19 month old enjoyed it. Husband wasn't so into it. He prefers regular burgers. He ate them though! I started them over medium high heat to brown (and keep the shape) then covered and lowered to medium low to fully cook through. Made them light and fluffy with that crunch on the outside. I did not have Korean BBQ sauce, but I did add half natural BBQ sauce and 1/2 teriyaki sauce. Tasted pretty similar. We put Thai Sweet Chili sauce on the buns and this was spectacular with the patties. Have quite a bit of leftover uncooked mix, going to saute it up tomorrow night and try it in burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TurtleMommy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ripon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
not bad it could use a little more flavour and the burger fell appart so much we almost had to eat it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I found this kind of labor intensive given the result. If I make this again, I will probably use instant rice instead of cooking brown rice. Despite using extra firm tofu and the egg as recommended, most of the patties fell apart in the oil. It's possible I didn't squeeze enough of the water out of the tofu. I wonder if chilling the mixture for an hour or so before cooking might help. We enjoyed the flavor, so we may venture to try again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
My husband and I really liked the flavor of these burgers! I only made some minor changes: I used wheat bran instead of the oat bran (and doubled the amount), and added some cumin as another reviewer mentioned. I found that the mixture actually held together pretty well (I didn't need to add any egg), possibly due to both the doubling of the wheat bran and the fact that I drained the tofu beforehand (placed it between paper towels and put a heavy skillet on top). I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I used lean ground beef instead of tofu with very good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
Im not a vegetarian and this meal was fabulous!! I did add an egg which helped (kinda the meatloaf effect). I also added about 1/4 cup Bisquick for it to stick together even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMarcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Very good but as advertised fell apart to no end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These were fine - not great - also very hard to keep together while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
We enjoyed the flavor of these. They do, as other reviews said, tend to fall apart a bit if you're not careful - it's that darn tofu! Not making the patties too thick, using a very wide spatula to turn, and cooking till crisp on one side before turning all helps. I'll make again & try some variations - maybe black beans, sunflower seeds, sesame, etc..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I should have read the reviews before I made this. It definitely needs an egg or something to bind the mixture together. I used wheat bran instead of oat bran, and I added more of it to the mixture, which seemed to help. They were really falling apart on me. The fact that I absolutely couldn't get any water to squeeze out of the tofu didn't help matters. It all just squished between my fingers. I think the flavor is pretty good; I especially like the brown rice. I just wish the texture was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States