All-Star Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It was delicious! I served it with Garlic Aioli and everyone ate it up so fast, they were going after the crumbs that were left over. I will definitely be making this again very soon. It was excellent as written, but maybe next time, I will try it with the egg, since I'm sure the egg will help it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My first time making veggie burgers, and they were good. I didn't use tofu, and I regret that (substituted additional rice and ground sesame seeds. They were still yummy, and I will try again with the tofu. Flavor was better than many of the store bought burgers I have made, and I know its GMO free when I make it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brightstarlit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
These are DELISH! I added one egg, used 5 Tbsp of ketchup with a few shakes of Tabasco and a couple Tbsp of BBQ sauce. Also used extra-firm tofu. They fell apart a little but are surprisingly very moist. Yummy and easy, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe! I made this without the oat bran or rice (didn't have any) and added chopped bell peppers and it still turned out great. Next time will add mushrooms or carrots. To keep shape, agree with other reviewers about adding egg/flour. A very healthy and filling meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Yes, absolutely delicious, I too made a few additions I used the tofu, along with chick peas, kidney beans, and black beans. For the overall flavor, I added lots of cumin and cumin seeds and a touch of curry. I have been making these for 30 years and it is endless the the different ingredients and spices you could add. Eat Healthy! Be Happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I don't think this is even a recipe. I think it's just stuff thrown together. They don't hold together as burgers and there's almost no flavor. The amount of seasoning could easily be tripled. I think people who change the whole recipe shouldn't leave 4 star reviews because this is not a 4 star recipe. I barely salvaged these into patties, but they're lose and wet and do not hold together. I got 14 patties, not 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
First off I have to admit that I did not have garbonzo beans! I had to substitute baked beans which changed the overall flavor. BUT I followed the recipe to the "T" after discovering I was out of garbonzos. The consistency and flavor was terrific. My son hates beans and even he liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Good taste but original recipe needs tweeking just like everyone says. I too had trouble with it falling apart in the pan (even with 2 added eggs). The ulimate solution was definitely adding the flour and vaaalaa! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Good recipe, very tasty. The first time I made them though I had trouble with it crumbling. This time I added 1/3 to 1/2 cup of vital wheat gluten to help with elasticity. Seems to have done the trick, and it's still vegan. (Not that I'm vegan, I'm just looking for a good, healthy dinner.) Also used JD BBQ sauce and Worcestershire sauce instead of Korean BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
These taste great! The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five is because it is sooo time consuming! I didn't have much trouble with mine falling apart. I used extra firm tofu though. Squished the water out through a mesh sieve. Used a garlic and ginger teriyaki(sp?) marinade instead of Korean BBQ sauce. Delish! Dressed it up just like a burger with Miracle Whip, melted cheddar, red onion, lettuce, and ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Veggie Burger

See how to make a flavorful veggie burger that’s never dry.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States