All-Star Veggie Burger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This was really good! Like others, I added an egg and that really helped it stay together. It didn't have a very strong flavor on its own, but that makes me excited to use it as a base and try many variations! It also takes well to a variety of sauces/toppings. WIll definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Perfect! I thought my family would balk but they really liked these burgers. I used whole wheat flour instead of oat bran and EXTRA firm tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Very good veggie burger, though I think I under-seasoned mine (needed more salt). I followed the recipe mostly to the T, but I did not have oat bran and I used Hoisin sauce instead of Korean BBQ..not sure how much of a difference that would have made but it still came out good. I also added a little egg white to the mix to bind it otherwise I could see that it was going to fall apart. I threw in some sunflower seeds after I mixed everything together in a food processor, I wanted to add a little nuttiness to the taste and had those lying around in the pantry. All in all a good recipe and I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is great recipe. Other reviewers mentioned needing an egg. I found that this wasn't really necessary. If you put the garbanzo beans in a food processor rather than just mashing them, it seems to hold together a lot better. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Definitely needs egg. I even tried an egg substitute, and it didn't work. Also, after many messy patties, I decided to spray a cookie sheet, place the patties on that and spray the top then bake at 420. (flipping after about 15 min) It was a good idea, healthier too. I also added some liquid smoke, and used a regular BBQ sauce. Extra firm tofu is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Photo by chadae
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I followed previous advice and added an egg and A1 sauce. I used wheat flour-didnt have any oat bran at hand. I added thyme instead of sage and some chopped onion, lawrys season salt to taste. I covered the pan after few minutes for the crispier burger-paired with wheat bun and home fries. Hubby gobbled it up and I did too (and Im not a vegetarian)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chadae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Giving this a modest 3 stars because of all the changes I had to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I was searching for a use for leftover chickpeas and rice and found this. I made it exactly as is... until I made the first practice patty. These won't stay together as burgers as-is. I took the rest of my 'dough' and kneaded in some gluten, which helped greatly. However, the spices/flavoring in the finished product was turned down way too low for us. With modifications this can be a winning burger, but as is, it was a total flop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Delicious! I just wish they would stay together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieScarlett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! It was delicious! I served it with Garlic Aioli and everyone ate it up so fast, they were going after the crumbs that were left over. I will definitely be making this again very soon. It was excellent as written, but maybe next time, I will try it with the egg, since I'm sure the egg will help it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Roasted Veggie Pasta

See how to make a healthy, rustic Italian-inspired pasta.

Homemade Black Bean Veggie Burgers

These 5-star veggie burgers have it all over frozen burgers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States