All-Purpose Rub for Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Too heavy on the paprika. Our family of 5 agreed, we didn't *dislike* it, but neither did we particularly like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB2323

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K-Dub
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This recipe was very good. I used have white sugar and half brown. Also I halved the salt per other's reviews. I added Lawry's seasoning salt and all I can say is YUM! It made a ton so I can use it again. UPDATE: This time I made as is and it was wonderful. I'm leaving the Lawry's out from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is an excellent meat rub and so simple. I used it when I baked a whole chicken. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was a good starting point, but I changed / added the following: 4 tbs brown sugar ( instead of white) 1 tbs paprika 2 tbs ground mustard pinch of oregano & thyme 1 tsp garlic powder 1 tsp onion powder 1 tsp cayanne pepper Salt and Pepper to taste (way too much salt in the original recipie). Thanks for the great idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Good rub. Very flavorfull. I just like a little more kick to it so I added some crushed red pepper and chili powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYLN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was our first rub. We grilled two t-bone steaks using this rub. It was amazing. It really made the steak taste awesome. After the rub we grilled the steaks on a fire of charcoal and red oak wood chips. This was amazing! The best steaks I have ever had. The rub is truely what made the steaks amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Really good on steaks! Used way less salt! Less sugar, also. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Very good, I only used a tablespoon of salt, four seemed like it would be too much. I added garlic powder and used half white and half brown for the sugar. I also left out the ground mustard, opps. Very good anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
phenomenal tasting if you change it to a wet/brine rub.. cut it to 3 table spoons of salt add a dash of red wine and equal amount of olive oil for binding... great on ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trip McNally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limerick, County Limerick, Ireland
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
Even with recommended adjustments, I was not particularly fond of this rub. I cut the recipe in half to use on three boneless pork chops, and further cut the salt, but it was still too much for me. My boyfriend liked it alot, but I probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States