All-Purpose Rub for Meat Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Excellent recipe with a few changes. Cut the salt in half. Substitute half of the white sugar with brown sugar (how can you have a rub without brown sugar?) and add garlic powder to taste (start with one teaspoon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
THIS WAS SIMPLY FABULOUS! I did however add some personal touches and it was YUMMY! I added a few shakes of Adobo(w/o pepper),1tsp garlic powder,1/2 tsp dill(dry),1/2 tsp curry powder I also ruduced the salt just a tad.I used this rub on a 4 lb chix that I rotissed:) It created a fantastic sticky not too sweet coating that did not burn or melt off. I WILL make again and again!!(hubby and kids loved it!!!!!!!!)Thanks Sarah!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Elizabeth Locke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Southwick, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
The first time I made as written. It was way too SALTY. I think the recipe should read 4 teaspoons salt not 4 tablespoons. I decreased it to 4 tsp. and it turned out great. I used it on chicken and it turned out tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
This is excellent! Too salty, but if you cut the salt in half it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
phenomenal tasting if you change it to a wet/brine rub.. cut it to 3 table spoons of salt add a dash of red wine and equal amount of olive oil for binding... great on ribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trip McNally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limerick, County Limerick, Ireland
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Used this rub on chicken thighs and then baked in oven and they turned out delicious!!! Change the granulated sugar to brown and only used 2 tbsp of salt and it turned out great!!! Mom and boyfriend almost fought over the last piece!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chippawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I made a beautful ribeye roast for Christmas dinner. I was looking for a new touch to the flavor. This rub was just what I was looking for to bring out the flavor of the roast. My children loved the roast (even my 10 year old who hates everything enjoyed the roast this time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
I used on chicken thighs and drumsticks.Decreased the salt to 2 teaspoons,oregano and thyme 1/4 teaspoon each added 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder and 1 teaspoon Emeril's essence. It was a nice mellow flavor everyone enjoyed it even the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I cut down the amount of salt to 3 tsp. and used this on cornish hens that I fixed in the rotisserie. While eating this, my husband said, "What is on this chicken!!? Do you have any more?" He loved it, and I did too. Next I put it on boneless, skinless chicken breasts on the contact grill, but I thought it was too sugary that time. From now on, I will use less sugar on smaller cuts of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
This was an excellent rub. I'm definently keeping this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Spice Rub

A little sweet, a little spicy; great on pork and chicken.

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States