All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfreemer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Easy and delicious. I used half the amount of sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I only had a couple of apples so greatly modified this recipe, but it was a great starting point! I prepared and cooked everything the same way, but only had 14 damaged macintoshes. I used 3/4 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, 2 heaping teaspoons of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon salt.....no cloves in my pantry. Put it on high at 830pm for an hour, turned it low over night, stirring any time I went into the kitchen. Pureed it in the morning around 830am with one of those hand-held things. Kept the lid on for an hour. Then took the lid off. It was about 130pm that I finally turned the crock pot off. The amount I made was enough to fill up 5 empty spice jars I had around. The consistency is perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I didn't realize how "finely" to chop the apples, it still looks like applesauce instead of apple butter. :/ But it still smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Slowly turning into an addict to this - my oatmeal porridge is very sad without. Near effortless to make, and getting up in the morning after making this over night is priceless. The whole house smells of apples ;D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Turned out beautifully and tastes the apple butter my grandmother used to make when I was a little girl. It is really worth all of the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Great recipe and easy. I cut sugar in half (cook longer if you need thicker consistency). I used Rome apples, which can be either sweet or slightly tart - i winged the amount of apples. I didn't cut apples as small as indicated, used my hand wand in the crock to make applesauce consistency. If you don't have a wand, you could use potato masher but should cut smaller as indicated. Friends have requested the recipe, so it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
i did this recipe in slightly less than half version (because i don't can) with a variety of apples i've collected from my food co op the last couple weeks. i was worried about it burning in the crockpot, but it did well. i used a little less sugar than called for, cooked on 9 hours for low, which ended overnight. my crockpot automatically stays on "warm" for another couple hours. when i woke up in the morning, it was perfect! i didn't even need the uncovered hour. i think my crockpot, at all levels, runs hot though. very thick and delicious, will use on toast and stir into my 2yo's oatmeal. thanks for the easy easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
amazing flavor.i used half the sugar,but i think it almost needs no sugar at all.delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irmgard Dyck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and the apple butter turns out perfect while the house smells amazing! Win win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 791) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States