All Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved making apple butter, thanks for recipe! I like to read the positive reviews and then adjust as you feel you would like. I used a combo of Granny Smith and Golden Delicious green apples, 1 cup of sugar, and added a dash or so of allspice. I did use a food processor to chop the apples small and then I tell you, one needs to cook this and cook it some more and don't give up! I wondered why it wasn't dark brown but it gets there. I liked it so much I then made a triple batch but this batch I didn't like the consistency so I put it in the blender in small batches and it looks buttery smooth and it's great. I'll probably make this every year now to share with friends and family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnkrodgers

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Yummy! I cut the sugar down to 2 cups but I think next time I'll reduce it a little more. Flavor was great. I used an extra 2 pounds of apples and a mix of golden delicious, fuji and gala apples. Could be the apples I used that made it sweeter. Would definitely not use 4 cups of sugar though. Also I added some fresh ground nutmeg. Gave away as gifts and everyone loved it. I will make it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Fantastic! It takes some tweaking depending on the type of apples used and the temperature of your crock pot, but it's still so easy! I used crab apples from the farm and added 1/4 tsp of Allspice. Added bonus: The house smells delicious while it cooks! I'm giving this to everyone for Christmas this year and I've already had great feedback.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Delicious... Im not a sweet jam/jelly person so this was a bit swee for me, but others loved it as is. House smelled awesome cooking this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I've never been brave enough to try to make homemade apple butter before, but boy was this easy! I will never buy store-bought again. And what a great gift! A cute little container with a bow and you're all set. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I screwed up and thought this was the recipe I had made earlier this year! I had it all in the crock pot before I remembered that the recipe I like called for Brown sugar not white sugar. I made it though and it was WAY too sweet. I am so bummed because the kids and I were giving these as Christmas gifts. I also go a lot of liquid in the end and could only make 4 out of 6 jars...I don't usually give a negative rating but using Brown sugar makes it so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Used twice. Best apple butter in the world. My one friend said it was like a drug. She couldnt stop eating it. I use brown sugar. I think it makes it thicker and richer. Im making some for Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin65

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
FANTASTIC RECIPE!!! Like everyone else I went with only 2 cups of auger and it was quite fine. An added benefit of this recipe is your house smells awesome all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the recipe that began my love affair with allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
made this recipe about 3 weeks ago and it was a big hit in our house and OH SO EASY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States