All Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I am very pleased with this recipe. I did cut the sugar in half, thinking I could add more after tasting if I thought it necessary, and I did not. I used one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown sugar. I do not care for cooked apples, so I am not the best judge for the taste of things like this- so I had my boyfriend try it, and he ended up getting a little bowl and having a couple of spoonfuls straight up! I have canned the rest to give as gifts, and I am getting ready to start another batch tonight before I go to bed. Thanks for a great recipe Terri :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Love it! Rave reviews from hubby and the neighbors. :). Baby girl said it was "finger-licking good". Will most definitely be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The consistency of this was lovely! It was very sweet. I'll try playing with the sugar content for the next batch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This makes some mean apple butter! Despite popular belief, I used red delicious apples, most into their mealy prime, and then only 4 gala apples to make the 5 1/2 lbs. Being me, I also didn't have enough sugar, so I used 1 1/2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar, with all the same spice amounts as called for in the recipe. I started it at 3 pm on a Saturday, high for an hour, then low until 6 am the next day. Then I took the lid off and continued cooking at low until 11 am, until I felt that I achieved the correct consistency. I let it cool then gave it a good whirl in my food processor. It came out a delicious dark caramel brown. Yum! I also just spooned it into freezer canning jars and it made 7 half-pint jars. Having never ate nor made apple butter before, this is great! I might have to go make me some friends and give some away, or keep it for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious! We followed the recommendations of other reviewers and halved the amount of sugar to two cups. We also needed to continue cooking, uncovered, for an additional seven hours (step four took us eight hours, not one hour, to thicken to the desired consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My boyfriend and I made this and it is delicious! Not to mention our house smelled fabulous while the apples and cinnamon were in the slow cooker. We used semi-tart apples, and added a pinch more sugar, and didn't used clove (mainly because we didn't have any and already had everything in the slow cooker). It didn't seem to change the taste though. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katigurl2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Most EXCELENT! My house shall never be without HOMEMADE Apple Butter again! I used less sugar, and should have even used a little less even. I did 4lbs of Granny Smith Apples and 1lb of Fiji Apples with 3 Cups sugar - next time, I will start off with 2 cups sugar and add more as needed to taste - this is going on my Christmas gift list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Tasty but way too much sugar. I will try again with more apples and less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHfromNJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Netcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with small apple bits burnt to the bottom of my crockpot with 2 of the 9 cooking hours left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 789) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States