All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Its just too sweet. I used a bitter apple and only 3 cups of sugar and still way too sweet. Also I couldn't get it to thicken good after 2 hrs with the top off. I will try this again but with a lot less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Too sweet. I get that it's dependent on the apples, but this was really overboard. You can't remove the sugar once you've added it, so I think the recipe should start out with putting half the sugar in, then saying to adjust two-thirds of the way through cooking time to your taste. I also added more cinnamon (about 1 tsp. more) and cloves (about 1/4 tsp. more) and a few dashes of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
this was a little sweet I cut sugar back 3c the next batch I think I will try 2c. other wise very good it depends on persons taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used fresh apples from my moms apple tree that were not quite ready so they were bitter. Came out perfect. I used a mix of white and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe. I cut the sugar down to 2 cups and found it to be plenty sweet. It's one of my favorite fall recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very easy to make and SO delicious. I was able to do the rest of my canning while this cooked in the crock pot, then canned it right before bed. I'll be using this recipe for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
According to my husband and kids this was our best batch of apple butter ever. We used Gala apples (this time of year in PA they are at the end of their picking season and very juicy and sweet). Filled the crockpot to the top and based on previous reviews cut the sugar. We added 1 cup sugar, 3 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp cloves and salt and 2 tsp vanilla. Cooked in the crockpot for about 9 hours and then placed in blender to puree. (only pureed half the batch since I like mine with more texture). I did follow canning directions for placing them in jars (boiled jars & lids - waited for the "pop") but the apple butter is so good I don't think we will need to worry about a shelf life - it will go to fast! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I tried this recipe with Honeycrisp apples and 3 cups of sugar and it was almost right. A bit sweet for my taste but my husband loved it. Next time will either add a dash of apple cider vinegar or less sugar, we'll see. Could also stand to be run through a food mill to remove the pulp so that it's less of an applesauce. Otherwise a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This turned out great for me with no lumps and a perfect consistency. I made the recipe as directed (but halved it,) and took the advice of others and halved the sugar. However, by the time it was done I'm pretty sure I added proportionately the same amount of sugar as directed by the recipe. I did not find this too sweet. Thanks for the recipe! I shoud add that I used 3 Grannie Smith apples and 2 Golden Delicious which may account for the reason we did not find this too sweet (because the apples I used were on the tart side for the most part.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I've used this recipe for several yearsl So good and it freezes very well. Used a potato masher to make the mixture more smooth. Think I'll try the honey this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States