All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
At first this came out as sort of a thick applesauce...So I used my emulsion blender and after that it thickened right up and became a thick, wonderful, gooey apple butter. I also added about 1 1/2 tbs all together of cinnamon because I love it so much and it was amazing. My only problem is that I used only 3 cups of sugar and it still came out a tad too sweet. Next time I will use Granny Smith apples (because of the tartness) or use less sugar. Lovely stuff though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy Mitchell

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was excellent! I used up some old apples I had and boy was that a treat. My husband and I really liked the results of this recipe! Just a side note, I had some homemade applesauce in the freezer that we weren't eating, so I just added that to the recipe as well. It worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen K.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
DELICIOUS! I had about 2 1/2 lbs. of apples that were starting to get soft spots so I was happy to find this recipe. I cut the recipe in half and it took about 7 hours to cook. I did the spoonful on a saucer test to tell when it was done. This tastes awesome when spread on cinnamon raisin toast. Thank you Terri for sharing your DELICIOUS recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is just a perfect recipe! We used some older soft apples that were too tart to eat, so everyone left them alone. The recipe was easy to make and the house smelled fabulous after cooking. We were eating spoonfuls out of the pan! I will make this often. Perfect topping for autumn cakes, pancakes, oatmeal and more. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
AMAZING! I did reduce amount of sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Made this yesterday to give as Christmas gift. It turned out great. I couldn't keep my 15 year old out of it. The only issue I have is it did not take 1 hour with lid off... it was more like 3 or 4 hours. But it turned out great so it didn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tattoogirllovessteven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newton, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This took longer than all day. Next time I will make it "all night" apple butter, starting it in the evening, then turning it down and going to bed. It should be ready to can when I get up! A friend of mine tried it this way and worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I make apple butter in the crock pot and it isn't necessary to peel. I cut, core and quarter and that's all I need to do. Be careful with your sugar, it really depends on the sweetness of the apples you use. If you're using a sweet apple and you add too much sugar you are going to end up with too sweet Apple Butter. I run the mixture through my Ninja for less than a minute, then pour into hot jars and the canning process. Easy peasy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I had 10 lbs of apples to use so I used 2 crock pots. I used 1/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c apple juice, 1/2 tbsp cinnamon and 1/2 tbsp pumpkin pie spice in each crock pot. I let it cook for 9 hours with the lid on then 4 hours with the lid off, I used my immersion blender to make it smooth. It made 21 cups in total. I think next time less time with the lid on and more with it off to thicken more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
So yummy! I used Mcintoshes and I cut the sugar in half but it was still a bit sweet for my liking. I'll probably just omit it altogether if I do this with Mcintosh apples again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 835) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States