All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
DELICIOUS! I used Honey Crisp apples, so the butter was a bit too sweet. My recommendation would be to reduce the sugar by 1/2 - 1 cup if you are using a sweeter apple. I used a total of just over 5 pounds of apple AFTER it was peeled, cored and sliced, and used my food processor to shred the apples. It make take longer than the last hour of uncovered cooking (took me 2), but you will know it's done when you put some on a regular dinner spoon and no liquid seeps out. I canned mine using a 10 minute hot water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday and all I can say is "Wow!" I used Granny Smith apples and 3 cups of sugar, and I did add allspice like some others suggested. I did not have to cook uncovered as it was really thick after the 9 hours on low. This recipe is a keeper. Prep takes some time, but I just sat peeling and cutting apples while watching Ina! Life is good, and this recipe is great! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Ive made this recipe many many times - i fill up 6qt crock pot full of apples - but put it on high stirring every hour and a half - then use mixer too puree it then keep cooking on high - after about 4 hours i crack the lid off alittle and it help to thicken as it cooks. total of about 8 - 9 hours Best recipe i have found - i use three different varieties of apples for best flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I ended up only getting 7 half pint jars out of the recipe, and followed the canning time of another reviewer, leaving in a water bath for 30 min. I left 1/4" headspace, but may leave a litte more next time. Set it up to cook overnight, with a stir before bed and constant stiring in the morning and it was fantastic. Planning to use as xmas gifts all around, and hopefully will be using this one to make Pear Butter as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Its just too sweet. I used a bitter apple and only 3 cups of sugar and still way too sweet. Also I couldn't get it to thicken good after 2 hrs with the top off. I will try this again but with a lot less sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Too sweet. I get that it's dependent on the apples, but this was really overboard. You can't remove the sugar once you've added it, so I think the recipe should start out with putting half the sugar in, then saying to adjust two-thirds of the way through cooking time to your taste. I also added more cinnamon (about 1 tsp. more) and cloves (about 1/4 tsp. more) and a few dashes of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
this was a little sweet I cut sugar back 3c the next batch I think I will try 2c. other wise very good it depends on persons taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gram

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used fresh apples from my moms apple tree that were not quite ready so they were bitter. Came out perfect. I used a mix of white and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This is a great recipe. I cut the sugar down to 2 cups and found it to be plenty sweet. It's one of my favorite fall recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very easy to make and SO delicious. I was able to do the rest of my canning while this cooked in the crock pot, then canned it right before bed. I'll be using this recipe for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States