All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I think that everyone's sweetness issues are due to the apples they are using. If you use a sweet apple like a red or golden delicious, likely 1C sugar will be enough. If you use a tart cooking apple up to 4C May be necessary to make it taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Absolutely marvelous recipe! Thank you. Also thanks to other reviewers with such tips as cook until it mounds on a test spoon, and to cook till there is no liquid that forms around the mound. I made it with home -grown, hardy prairie apples from our tree - much like MacIntoshes. Will try with our much more tart yellow apples next time to experiment with different apple sweetness. Happy cooking everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Near Lexington, Kentucky are several orchards. One of the things that makes old time apple butter is to use fragrant apples right off the tree! It is a great way to preserve a large harvest especially with rising food cost. One of the ways that I core a large number of apples is to cut the apple in half and use the small end of a mellon baller to remove the seed core. I only remove a shallow half ball to conserve the apple. This is a great recipe, I cook mine in a slow cooker on low. I will probably have a hard time sleeping because of the great smell filling the house. When I "can", I use a digital thermometer right down the center to insure it is over 160 degrees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I added a regular size can of plain pumpkin to this and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Made this and had so many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I used a mixture of white and brown sugar adding up to about 3 cups, and I also added nutmeg at the beginning. About one hour before it was finished, I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I whipped it with a hand mixer when it was done to get a smoother consistency. It was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I didn't have enough apples to make the large batch, so I had to 1/4th the recipe, but I figured it would still work. I think it did, although I'm not sure what it's actually supposed to be like. Anyway, it turned out really dark and almost gel-like and I was really hoping for it to turn out lighter like the picture. Also, next time I think I will pulverize the apples somehow so that it comes out smoother, with less apple bits. Anyway, it came out alright, but I don't know if I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This has been in my crock pot all day, and is delicious! Way darker than in the picture, but rich and warm tasting. It still needs to reduce a bit, I'm almost to 12 hrs. cooking time. I did take the apples out after 8 hrs and put them in the food processor to make a smooth apple butter. I'm happy I tried this and can't wait to make more for gifts this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Exceptional! So easy - didn't have to strain or sieve anything. And I used a food processor to finely chop, so that went really fast. Added some Penzey's cake spice, too, and extra of the rest. Wonderfully spiced and delicious! I also added about 1 cup of apple juice and 1/2 cup of apple cider vinegar, but that meant I needed to leave the lid off for around 1.5-2 hours, instead of just the 1 at the end. Oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This recipe is just like the one in the Blue Book of canning. Only thing different is the salt. No need for it. Just makes it a bit more unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 826) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States