All Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is just a perfect recipe! We used some older soft apples that were too tart to eat, so everyone left them alone. The recipe was easy to make and the house smelled fabulous after cooking. We were eating spoonfuls out of the pan! I will make this often. Perfect topping for autumn cakes, pancakes, oatmeal and more. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This is my second batch the first went quick! I would have given it five stars but decided on 4 due to a few inconsistencies in the recipe. #1.. prep time is longer than 30 minutes. I used a countertop apple peeler that moves quickly but dicing them takes time. The first tie I diced them rather finely but found it makes no difference. #2. Even with the fine dice a wisk did not create a smooth product. Use a immersion blender, works lie a dream. #3. Time after removing lid is more than an hour. Mine ran about 3 hours. I suppose this could vary due to how juicy your apples are. All things considered in will continue to use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I used 1/2 cp brown sugar, 3/4 cp white sugar, 5 oz. apple juice, 1/8 tsp cloves, 1/8 tsp salt & 1/2 tsp allspice, cooked about 20 hours total, mostly covered. Use a potato masher or immersion blender to get a smoother texture. I used 3 lbs McIntosh, 3 large Gala apples. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This was a very helpful base to start from for a first time apple butter baker... maker... whatever... I use gala apples, and as they are so naturally sweet to being with I reduced to 2 cups of brown sugar (brown simply because I like it better). I had to let it cook quite a bit longer with out the lid and added more cloves and a bit more cinnamon for more bite. Overall, this seems to be quite nice and it's extremely simple to make. Looking forward to hear back from friends and family about how they think it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I guess it was ok. I will try it one more time with differeent apples. I was hoping it tasted better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I love this recipe. I made this as xmas gifts for co -workers. I loved it so much I made it again for me. Try it, its so easy and really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I used golden delicious and rome apples. I shredded them with the food processor. I used 2 cups of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar. I put about an 1/8 teaspoon of cloves and allspice. Cooked for 11 on low after the first hour and about 5 with lid off to thicken. 3 cups of sugar is enough to make it sweet and not over powering. If you like tart butter then i would cut it back to about a cup of sugar. I ran it through the food processor before I let it cook without the lid. If you have a big crock pot you can double the recipe it fits fine. It will yield about 50% of what you started with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I grew up on apple butter. In fact the village I lived in hosted an Apple Butter Day every year and still does. Nothing beats homemade apple butter! This was my first time attempting to make my own apple butter and I kinda battled with it but it still came out good, though next time I'd make some modifications. I used Jonathan apples but probably would try a different kind next time. Like others, I cut down on the sugar and used only 3 cups. I also added allspice as some suggested but may have added too much because it was very spicy when it was done, will probably leave that out next time. I tried to cook my apples the 9-11 hours as stated but by the 8th hour, a lot of the liquid was gone so I had to stop. It was still very chunky so I threw it all in a blender and that helped to smooth it out. I got over the flavor, being a little too spicy, but as it sat in my fridge, it thickened up a lot and became almost too gummy. I ended up using most of it in an apple butter spice cake, which came out really nice. Will try again next Fall. It did make the house smell wonderful! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Because of the comments about too much sugar I cut out half a cup from the recipe, still was too sweet but all my gift recipients loved it! Next time I will omit a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Followed others advice and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 785) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States