All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
So good!! I had mine done in about 7 hours because I was really excited and couldn't wait the 11+ hours. lol I kept my crock pot on high for about 3 hours and then turned it to low for the remainder. I used a blend of Pink Lady and Gala apples so I cut the sugar back to 2 cups. I recommend tasting all along the way and adjusting the sugar and spices as needed. Amazing! Never would have guessed that it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I loved this recipe. Though I use less sugar and found it just as easy to cook on stovetop for about half the time. Great find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Journey-Maisel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
used half the sugar and was still very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This turned out wonderful! I used wolf river apples which are good for baking. I did adjust after reading some reviews. I used 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. I added the juice from one lemon. I also grated fresh nutmeg into the mix. I cooked the full crock pot on high for two hours and then turned it to low, stirring from time to time. I think it was on from about 10 am until 8pm. I had cut the apples pieces pretty small hoping they would cook down more quickly. That seemed to help. At the end I used my emulsion blender to smooth it out a little more. I know I will make this again! Both my boys loved it and the 9 year old wanted to take some to bed! I guess he liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
My hubby and son really loved this recipe, I thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I thought it had good flavor using 4 cups sugar. I cooked mine an extra 6-7 hours, overnight. I only left the lid off for a half hour or so and it didn't get thick enough. I read more reviews later suggesting longer, so I'll do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly as written. Started in the evening and left on low overnight. Had to leave uncovered for 2 hours instead of one to get it thick enough. Maybe a little too sweet, but I was worried about it not gelling as stated in previous posts. In the end I added some extra cinnamon, ground nutmeg, ground cloves and all spice to taste at the very end as I felt it was lacking in flavor. Made 5 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Definitely took a lot longer than listed, but probably more to do with the strength of my slow cooker and the fact it was my first try. Based on reviews, added some nutmeg. Used 2 kinds of apples, about a third tart and two thirds sweet, so cut back on sugar some. Delicious and am sharing with friends/relatives so I don't eat it all myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This was my first time making apple butter and this recipe was delicious!! I used one cup brown sugar and 3 cups white. I thought it was perfectly sweetened. I upped the spices slightly. I used 2 heaping teaspoons cinnamon and a heaping 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. I like it spicy. I filled my 6 qt. Crock Pot to the brim with the peeled, sliced apples and then added the sugar and spices. After it cooked down a little I stirred it. Went to bed and in the morning took the lid off to cook down and stirred with a whisk. I wanted it a little chunky. I let it cook down about 4 hours then canned it in half pint jars. I filled each to within 1/4 inch from the top and processed for 10 minutes in a water bath. We loved it and will be making this every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Lowe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robinson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palestine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Love it! Best apple butter that I have ever had! I used a variety of apples I'd just picked and added a 1/4 cup brown sugar and pinch of all spice. I also mushed the apples with a potatoe masher when 3 hours remained whcih helped speed the process then I took it off about an hour early. It thickens as it sets in the jar. Definately recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States