All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This recipe was the best! It was my first attempt at apple butter and not only did it make more than the 5 pints, (I got 7) but the taste was better than any apple butter I have ever had. I decreased the amount of sugar because the apples were sweet enough. I also used an immersion mixer to make sure it was totally smooth. Other than that, I followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita and Tim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Highlands, California, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Combined the ingredients as written. Cooked longer as it didn't thicken up enough for me at the suggested time. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I cannot say enough good about this recipe. This was my very first time making apple butter of any type and this recipe turned out perfect for me. I used approximately 70% Macintosh and 30% Granny Smith apples and the balance with 3 cups of sugar was just right. I did it as directed. The taste, texture and color were perfect. I would heartedly recommend this recipe to anyone!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I am very pleased with this recipe. I did cut the sugar in half, thinking I could add more after tasting if I thought it necessary, and I did not. I used one cup of white sugar and one cup of brown sugar. I do not care for cooked apples, so I am not the best judge for the taste of things like this- so I had my boyfriend try it, and he ended up getting a little bowl and having a couple of spoonfuls straight up! I have canned the rest to give as gifts, and I am getting ready to start another batch tonight before I go to bed. Thanks for a great recipe Terri :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Love it! Rave reviews from hubby and the neighbors. :). Baby girl said it was "finger-licking good". Will most definitely be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Mclain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The consistency of this was lovely! It was very sweet. I'll try playing with the sugar content for the next batch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This makes some mean apple butter! Despite popular belief, I used red delicious apples, most into their mealy prime, and then only 4 gala apples to make the 5 1/2 lbs. Being me, I also didn't have enough sugar, so I used 1 1/2 cups white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar, with all the same spice amounts as called for in the recipe. I started it at 3 pm on a Saturday, high for an hour, then low until 6 am the next day. Then I took the lid off and continued cooking at low until 11 am, until I felt that I achieved the correct consistency. I let it cool then gave it a good whirl in my food processor. It came out a delicious dark caramel brown. Yum! I also just spooned it into freezer canning jars and it made 7 half-pint jars. Having never ate nor made apple butter before, this is great! I might have to go make me some friends and give some away, or keep it for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Absolutely delicious! We followed the recommendations of other reviewers and halved the amount of sugar to two cups. We also needed to continue cooking, uncovered, for an additional seven hours (step four took us eight hours, not one hour, to thicken to the desired consistency).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
My boyfriend and I made this and it is delicious! Not to mention our house smelled fabulous while the apples and cinnamon were in the slow cooker. We used semi-tart apples, and added a pinch more sugar, and didn't used clove (mainly because we didn't have any and already had everything in the slow cooker). It didn't seem to change the taste though. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katigurl2011

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States