All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is the first time I made apple butter and it turn out great the family love's it . I am going to give some to friends and family. The only thing I did different was I added 3 cups of sugar instead of 4 its not a sweet . We love it. Thank You Rebecca Bradley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This was ok. I think it had WAY too much cinnamon in it - it was quite overpowering. I'd also cut the sugar by at least 1/4 as it was so sweet we ended up throwing it out after a while. It was just too sweet to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I am an apple butter addict. Seriously, I love the stuff. I wanted to make my own and I finally worked up the courage to do it this past weekend. This recipe was perfect! It was easy and didn't involve standing over a hot stove--which was great, since it was 95 degrees in my apartment this weekend. I halved the recipe and modified it a little (both on purpose and accidentally). I substituted half of the white sugar for brown, since that's just how I like my apple products. I also added twice the amount of cloves (by accident), the result of the labels on my measuring spoons being nearly worn away. But even though my apartment smelled like Christmas, it wasn't overpowering in the final product. I didn't find it too sweet, but I have a huge sweet tooth. I could not stop making toast to spread this on! I probably should have cut down the cook time as well; I ended up with only one pint of really strong apple butter. But it's delicious and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Bean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
So easy and delicious! It's hard to find apple butter in NZ but tankfull now that I have this recipe, I always have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lyttelton, Canterbury, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by david
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
wonderful flavor the only problem i had was i had to use my blender to smooth it out. but other than that it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I never made apple butter before but I got curious when I saw it on TV... oh wow it's really good. REALLY good. Though it came out more like jelly or applesauce... I don't care. The taste is amazing. Thank you for this. It's great. I can't wait to share this with people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nfreemer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ridgway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Easy and delicious. I used half the amount of sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I only had a couple of apples so greatly modified this recipe, but it was a great starting point! I prepared and cooked everything the same way, but only had 14 damaged macintoshes. I used 3/4 cup packed brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, 2 heaping teaspoons of cinnamon, 1/4 teaspoon salt.....no cloves in my pantry. Put it on high at 830pm for an hour, turned it low over night, stirring any time I went into the kitchen. Pureed it in the morning around 830am with one of those hand-held things. Kept the lid on for an hour. Then took the lid off. It was about 130pm that I finally turned the crock pot off. The amount I made was enough to fill up 5 empty spice jars I had around. The consistency is perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I didn't realize how "finely" to chop the apples, it still looks like applesauce instead of apple butter. :/ But it still smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 817) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make All-Day Apple Butter

Let your slow cooker make this irresistible apple butter for you.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States