All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this on the advice of a very good cook and I'm so glad I did! What a fantastic, easy method. I had 4 apples (1 3/4 lb.) so I scaled the recipe down to 20 servings. I started this in my crock pot at 12:30 one day and 10 hours later it didn't look cooked down enough so I just let it go overnight. In the morning it was beautifully cooked down and nicely browned. Although the apples were very soft they still retained their shape so I used my hand mixer to get them to a nice spreading consistency. My youngest son woke up and told me our house smelled like Christmas :) The kids are loving this on toasted bread but I plan to use it in the many recipes available on this site that include apple butter as an ingredient. Thanks so much for this submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I had almost exactly 1 and 3/4 lb apples so I made the recipe for 20 servings. I used 1 cup splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar, rather than the suggsted 1 and 1/4 cup sugar and this is the best thing I've ever eaten in my life! I've had toast and apple butter for evry meal since it finished. And hot, over vanilla ice cream is sooooo GOOD! If there were more than five stars, this recipe would get them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The BEST apple butter I have ever had! My sister-in-law gave me a big bag of small tart green apples from her tree so this recipe came to mind thanks to a past recommendation from "TristansMom". The flavor is strong, sweet, slightly spicey and tart at the same time, and just the smell of it cooking all day is heavenly. Will definately make this again, thank you! P.S. Took Tristansmom's advice to put it hot on vanilla ice cream, add some caramel sauce and WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This is something that is going to vary depending on a person's preference. I am giving 5 stars because it works! I used 3lb apples, 2 cups sugar, same amount of spice listed in original recipe. After it cooked down a bit I used my hand held blender and blended it all together. It took only about 9 hours in my slow cooker. Awesome way to make Apple Butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This is the same recipe that is highly rated and listed elsewhere on the allrecipes site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I made this last year and gave it as Christmas gifts. I had so many compliments and requests for more. I did add extra spices - i like my apple butter spicier. I also made it with 2 cups brown sugar and 2 cups white sugar. After cooking I put it in a blender to make it smoother before canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I am so glad I tried this recipe. I followed another reviewers advice and just used 4 apples and cut the serving size down to 20. This made enough to fill a container for just my husband and I. I do think that this would make a good Christmas gift like other reviewers stated. I didn't use cloves because I didn't have any on hand and I'm not really a clove person. I added a little more cinnamon though and vanilla. Next time I make this I am going to add more apples and less sugar. I'd also like to try it with half brown sugar. However, this is probably just personal preference. I don't have a huge sweet tooth. This was delicious though. I started it about 8pm and let it cook overnight. This morning I woke up and used my hand blender to blend it a bit and had it on a piece of toast on the way to work. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Really great recipe! I am a Virginia girl, and we love apple butter. This recipe reminds me of home! I used Gala apples and followed recipe exactly. Beautiful brown color and the smell is wonderful. My emersion blender made it nice and smooth. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Awesome! My family loved this recipe! Didnt change a thing. My only complaint, there is never enough apples! We went through the first batch of 5 pound, wayyy too quick! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
My neighbor's boyfriend has an apple tree in his yard. No one was doing anything with thoes beautiful apples. My other neighbors and I made apple sauce, then I made Dumplings, pie crisp, cinnamon applesauce. I still had apples, so I found this recipe and tried it. I have made two batches just to get to keep some for myself. Neighbors, family and friends all give this 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States