All-Day Apple Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Easy and tasty. My husband is very picky about his apple butter and this was a hit. Warning: I made it according to the recipe and it was TOO sweet so I doubled the apples and it was perfect. Either double your apples or 1/2 the sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brevard, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this on the advice of a very good cook and I'm so glad I did! What a fantastic, easy method. I had 4 apples (1 3/4 lb.) so I scaled the recipe down to 20 servings. I started this in my crock pot at 12:30 one day and 10 hours later it didn't look cooked down enough so I just let it go overnight. In the morning it was beautifully cooked down and nicely browned. Although the apples were very soft they still retained their shape so I used my hand mixer to get them to a nice spreading consistency. My youngest son woke up and told me our house smelled like Christmas :) The kids are loving this on toasted bread but I plan to use it in the many recipes available on this site that include apple butter as an ingredient. Thanks so much for this submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I am so glad I tried this recipe. I followed another reviewers advice and just used 4 apples and cut the serving size down to 20. This made enough to fill a container for just my husband and I. I do think that this would make a good Christmas gift like other reviewers stated. I didn't use cloves because I didn't have any on hand and I'm not really a clove person. I added a little more cinnamon though and vanilla. Next time I make this I am going to add more apples and less sugar. I'd also like to try it with half brown sugar. However, this is probably just personal preference. I don't have a huge sweet tooth. This was delicious though. I started it about 8pm and let it cook overnight. This morning I woke up and used my hand blender to blend it a bit and had it on a piece of toast on the way to work. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I had almost exactly 1 and 3/4 lb apples so I made the recipe for 20 servings. I used 1 cup splenda and 1/4 cup brown sugar, rather than the suggsted 1 and 1/4 cup sugar and this is the best thing I've ever eaten in my life! I've had toast and apple butter for evry meal since it finished. And hot, over vanilla ice cream is sooooo GOOD! If there were more than five stars, this recipe would get them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I made this last year and gave it as Christmas gifts. I had so many compliments and requests for more. I did add extra spices - i like my apple butter spicier. I also made it with 2 cups brown sugar and 2 cups white sugar. After cooking I put it in a blender to make it smoother before canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarajo614

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
The BEST apple butter I have ever had! My sister-in-law gave me a big bag of small tart green apples from her tree so this recipe came to mind thanks to a past recommendation from "TristansMom". The flavor is strong, sweet, slightly spicey and tart at the same time, and just the smell of it cooking all day is heavenly. Will definately make this again, thank you! P.S. Took Tristansmom's advice to put it hot on vanilla ice cream, add some caramel sauce and WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Really great recipe! I am a Virginia girl, and we love apple butter. This recipe reminds me of home! I used Gala apples and followed recipe exactly. Beautiful brown color and the smell is wonderful. My emersion blender made it nice and smooth. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I did not like this recipe. I thought it has to much ground clove. Also it never stated what kind of apples to use so I used Fuji and it just did not taste right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikky J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
Mmmmmmm yummy! I had just gone apple-picking and had tons of apples to use up; this recipe was a great way to do that! Just set it in the Crockpot before going to bed and finished it in the morning - so easy! Cooked down nicely, although mine needed an extra hour or 2 in the cooker to get rid of some excess liquid in the mixture. Took a whisk to it when it was all done because some of the apples looked a little chunky and it came out wonderfully! Planning to use these for stocking stuffers at Christmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. J. Gilmour
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Very easy recipe. Only gave 4 stars because it should specify which types of apples are best to use... My husband brought home Red Delicious because those come conveniently in the 3# bags, and I used them. However, I'm sure this would have tasted better with an apple variety more suitable for cooking like Gala or Honeycrisp. My butter came out quite brown, and tasted fine on a bagel, but I would not can it to give to friends. It did blend nicely for use in the "Apple Butter Pumpkin Pie" from this site and an apple butter rugelach cookie from a magazine. I plan on using the rest in an "Apple Butter Pork Loin" in a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States